All Ireland junior championship

Any updates about Saturdays game in portlaoise?
No posts!

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 19/08/2014 09:14:23    1638673

Anybody got any news on the game on Saturday? It is an All Ireland Final after all.
I hope the lads get good support and a win would be a nice tonic after the poor displays by our Senior squad over the Summer.
So best of luck lads !!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 21/08/2014 19:42:50    1640181

Kerry are 1/4 Cavan 10/3
That's allied know.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 207 - 22/08/2014 09:00:00    1640284

Best of luck to the Lads tomorrow, Cant wait to head to Laois, An Cabhan abu.

cavan97 (Cavan) - Posts: 369 - 22/08/2014 09:01:01    1640285

If they play the open game I know they can play I think 10/3 is great odds and worth a punt. Reilly Conroy O'Connor and all the forwards & midfield are well able to score and they have a great goal stopper as well so for the betting man place a bet.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 22/08/2014 12:20:22    1640397

If they play an open game they'll get hockeyed. Kerry serious forwards. Be naive to play open football.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 22/08/2014 12:45:23    1640423

Agree, Kerry are a step up in class from what Cavan have played so far. playing open football and Cavan would be taken apart.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 22/08/2014 14:50:33    1640492

Sadly if they resort to negative football that we have seen over the last few months they will be hockeyed anyway so why not give it a lash. I would prefer to see us beaten playing football if only to see if there is a future in what is coming through ability wise.

mowbar (Cavan) - Posts: 452 - 22/08/2014 15:28:04    1640515

doratheexplorer

If they play an open game they'll get hockeyed. Kerry serious forwards. Be naive to play open football.

Here we go again !!
Can you tell me what hahppened to us when we went out against Kerry in Croke Park last year??
1st half we were all defensive and Kerry destroyed us - game over at half-time!!!
2nd half we change our tactics and start playing attacking football - suddenly Kerry were worried and we could have actually beaten them

So please stop adopting this negative policy where we are running scared of teams. We are handing teams the initiative and saying we are not as good as you.
So I hope we go out and say to Kerry, we are well able to play football up in Cavan and if you want to beat us, you better be a lot better than us. No more inferiority complex please !!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 22/08/2014 15:50:30    1640533

I doubt too many are bothered as long as Cavan win - not like Cavan have plenty of All Ireland's at any grade.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 22/08/2014 17:11:52    1640596

Bring the Cup home tomorrow night boys!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 22/08/2014 17:38:16    1640617

And its easier to say in hindsight Cavan should have attacked kerry from the start last year in the Senior game, Kerry put it up to Dublin for a good duration of the Semi and could have beaten them - would Cavan have? Cavan played well in the second half, but they also eased up.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 22/08/2014 17:43:22    1640624

Best of luck to Terry, and the Cavan team tomorrow, in the Junior All Ireland final against Kerry.

mchugh11 (Donegal) - Posts: 242 - 22/08/2014 18:00:57    1640639

Kerry eased up in second half because game was over so cop on with the we were better than them when we attacked. Our under 21s weren't in same class as Dublin and almost beat them only for a few questionable decisions from referee. The problem for the seniors this year was not enough pace in team to counter so couldn't play the defensive game properly. No class link man. Armagh played open football last year against us and look what happened. There is no shame setting up defensively if gameplan is set up properly. Cavan seniors couldn't do it properly this year with injuries to players integral to the system. Who won Anglo this year? Do they make any apologies for their style of play and why should they. It's not an inferior complex. What some posters are suggesting is a superior complex.

If Cavan set up open tomorrow it'll be a hiding. Simple as.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 22/08/2014 18:04:21    1640643

doratheexplorer

Kerry eased up in second half because game was over so cop on with the we were better than them when we attacked. Our under 21s weren't in same class as Dublin and almost beat them only for a few questionable decisions from referee. The problem for the seniors this year was not enough pace in team to counter so couldn't play the defensive game properly. No class link man. Armagh played open football last year against us and look what happened. There is no shame setting up defensively if gameplan is set up properly. Cavan seniors couldn't do it properly this year with injuries to players integral to the system. Who won Anglo this year? Do they make any apologies for their style of play and why should they. It's not an inferior complex. What some posters are suggesting is a superior complex.

If Cavan set up open tomorrow it'll be a hiding. Simple as.

Stop making excuses !!
Cavan U 21's were as good if not better than the Dubs so again stop belittling our young players.
You say we had no pace. So when Mackey is not playing the whole system falls apart. Utter rubbish. What about all the young players with pace like Gerry Smith, Conor Moynagh, Paul O'Connor etc.

Anyway good luck lads and I will be down there to support ye !!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 22/08/2014 18:41:26    1640660

I'm not belittling any players. It takes great discipline to play defence based counter attacking football. The system did fall apart without Mackey because there was an over reliance on him and Martin Reilly was far too deep in games. Plus players couldn't break the first tackle to create overlaps and there was too much ponderous play when countering. There is nothing wrong with the system if executed properly. Paul O Connor a full forward so not the solution, Moynagh a back who went to America before Roscommon game and Gerry Smith wasn't in senior panel. Gerry's game is more about guile and class, using both feet rather than pace. But Moynagh is a natural choice for the number 6 jersey next year. The half forward line needs speed, intelligence and work rate. Being to most of the junior games and Moynagh and Tinnelly have being stand out players. Also Enda Reilly and Paul Smith impressive. Tinnelly should have being used much earlier in championship for Cavan and there are players picked on name only.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 22/08/2014 19:23:26    1640680

BreffniDub it was the defensive sytem Cavan played against Dublin in the u21 game. Roscommon didn't play defesinsive in the All Ireland final and look what happened there. They thought they could match Dublin man to man.

No harm in a bit of a reality.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 23/08/2014 10:52:19    1640763

Congratulations Cavan :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 23/08/2014 17:11:19    1640899

Congrats to the Cavan players and mgnt. Some lovely football played but some awful back passing as well. Plenty of emerging talent in Tom Hayes, Paul O'Connor, Chris Conry, Conor Moynagh, Liam Buchanan and Ciaran Brady. Hope to see them all featuring at some point in our coming Div 2 campaign. This competition has always been a very useful opportunity to help lads bridge the gap from u21 to senior. This was a very good Kerry team and they were outclassed by Cavan, particularly in the third quarter. Someone please take the responsibility of deploying this emerging talent positively.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 23/08/2014 17:59:27    1640915

Do you not think that us what we are doing in this competition, deploying our emerging talent. All Ireland champions and still the negative slant at the end.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/08/2014 18:16:10    1640920