Time & Place

With was has gone down over the last few day's I feel a line needs to be drawn for if one continues to vent their anger vocally it makes us Cavan out to be something we are not.
I feel really if management feel they have a gripe with what happened please I ask you sit back preferably on your own and watch the match just on your own and draw your own constructive conclusion. No point in listening to people talking into your ear and creating an un balanced opinion. It might not be a bad idea to have a few others to do the same thing.
As a Cork man I suppose we could have vented our anger over the last decision but we all know the whistle was blown and it's very rare for a referee to change his decision right or wrong.

I am gutted we Cork lost and we Cavan lost as I have lived and worked in Cavan over 40 years.

Youngsters watch what their elders or leaders do in the heat of the moment and they yes they feel they have earned a license to treat in legal terms.

For Peter Reilly I have the greatest of respect for this individual as we go back a long time and my commiseration's go out to you my friend remember next year is another year so please sit back look after yourself and your family, refresh your thoughts and plans for next year there are more battles to be fought and you will conquer. Five in a Row is your next target so start planning in a few months your next targets.

I know its hard but please be gracious in defeat as you would in victory.

Next week Mr Hyland and his senior team along with a few of the current U21 players go to Croke Park to play Roscommon so time now to concentrate on our future and not let the past confuse our thoughts and directions going forward.

Look at the logo on your jerseys RESPECT to all clubs and counties that word should be worn with pride as you would your county jersey.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 21/04/2014 10:47:23    1577898

Well done on a well balanced comment Seanorinn. Cavan are a great side who have shown the whole country how to approach under 21 football. Cavan senior team will benefit in the long run and I for 1 will not be surprised when they lift Sam. This is a tiny blip on the road. Congratulations on another Ulster title, congratulations to all the wonderful Cavan fans who conducted themselves with dignity. To the mindless few troublemakers please cop on to yourselves and stop bringing the good name of Cavan GAA into the gutter.

No_Drama (Wicklow) - Posts: 509 - 21/04/2014 11:42:30    1577943

yes. it's getting embarrasing. we lost because we weren't good enough . move on.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/04/2014 19:55:32    1578184

Time to move on now.
The referee did us no favours but many teams can say that.
Refereeing is still the biggest problem in Gaelic football and i have posts saying that going back years.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 21/04/2014 20:21:37    1578196

i wud be more worried about us only scoring 1 pt in the last 27 minutes.All this aurging about the rules and the ref when stats of the game prove we were clearly not good enough on the scoreboard.
Will the div 3 final expose our forwards as well?
Yes we have improved by all accounts this past 2 years but have we the management to take us to the next level playing open expansive football like Cork u21s and Roscommon u21s?
is there another hard luck story around the corner saturday?

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 21/04/2014 21:49:02    1578247

Disgraceful the way management acted after the game.

gaelsutd (Cavan) - Posts: 602 - 22/04/2014 12:20:28    1578382

just a few thoughts on the match : the referee got most things right during the course of the game - unfortunately he will be remembered for the ones near the end. If that same match was played out last year both joe and mc hugh from dublin would both be on yellow cards and both still on the field so no complaints there. only problem is the ref in his wisdom decided to dish out a random black to our player for an offence that did nt fit the criteria that it was introduced for ie it was not a cynical tackle it was a stupid foul - the ball or the man were going nowhere. also that free at the end would probably have been awarded in the first place under last years rules so you cant really blame the ref. for applying the advantage rule they are instructed to do that. However it was a great performance and i would say the only reason we came up short is the lack of one or two forwards who can sidestep and most importantly kick the ball confidently with either foot such as Dunne or Keating and are not afraid to shoot. Dublin kicked a lot more wides than us but that doesnt count in the end. well done lads on a great year .

tenyearplan (Cavan) - Posts: 147 - 22/04/2014 21:57:34    1578783

Totally agree with seanorinn's remarks and other posters too. Going into this game our highest scorer for the championship was Michael Argue with 1-9 followed by Joe Dillon with 3-2. Kinda tells its own story - we didn't have the fire-power up front. That's life - All-Ireland Winners usually have that extra ability to get killer scores. Every one of our lads left all they had on the field and set a example for all the young players coming along behind them. I couldn't be prouder of any team than this one.

RoyalBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 198 - 23/04/2014 09:44:12    1578814

With all this talk about lacking natural scoring forwards I think the management have to accept a lot of the blame..from being a keen follower of club football in cavan there seems to be a lot of in my mind the more natural forwards being not prefared by more athletic ball winners.joe Dillon for example who had a great championship would not be counted as a natural forward yet he seems to suit the style more than the likes of odonnell madden and Andy graham.of course the management will point to 4 ulster titles in a row however we never look capable to make the next step when exposed to less defensive football outside ulster..from our four winning teams we have created a winning mentality but not a marquee forward..I spoke to a player a few weeks ago and he as much said the same that where as the natural shooters are more tempted to shoot the other players are being taught to only shoot if they think their guaranteed a score.if we are to push on from here at senior level I think a fresh approach will have to be taken.

Gingerninja1 (Cavan) - Posts: 35 - 23/04/2014 11:11:18    1578881

Gingerninja1

I wonder sometimes if they are not selected or not interested. I am over 30 years involved with club football in Cavan and through out those years there were more natural and more talented players playing for clubs than there was on the county team. Some were overlooked because of physique, some because of tactical roles, but many simply were not interested in playing for Cavan.
Why not ? The demands on players, especially over the last decade has increased significantly. The time required, the physical demands, not to mention the verbal abuse for some is simply not worth it. Our own club has no county players at present but one is more than capable at playing at senior county level. He was on the senior panel 2 years ago and left of his own accord simply because of the time consuming element plus the actual fun element had gone from playing the game.
I undersatnd preperation is important, but has it gone to the stage of performance over enjoyment ?

StirringIt (Cavan) - Posts: 374 - 23/04/2014 11:48:18    1578925

StirringIt

Ye but my argument is these players are on the panel and and trying as hard but these players are being left out due to the system cavan use,,I've seen madden and graham this year and taught they were far more dangerous than what was there...

Gingerninja1 (Cavan) - Posts: 35 - 23/04/2014 12:47:15    1578962

Worth reading Paul Fitzpatricks article in the Anglo Celt,
I think he's hit the nail on the head.
One particular part he mentions Gerry Smith scorching through the Dublin defence and instead of taking his score he stops and turns back to give the ball to someone else and then attempts a shot which was neither hear nor there.
A valuable opportunity gone a begging.
These young lads have given there all for Cavan and you can't ask more than that.
They deserve better and that day will come I'm sure.
Hopefully in the future these lads will get to express their talents without the blanket defence.
Best of luck for the future and well done!!!!!
Were all very proud of you!!!!!!

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 23/04/2014 15:37:28    1579119

Desagov, I think Fitzpatrick is wrong in that example. Smith was trying to work a goal. The problem was Hayes looped back behind him instead of staying wide. This closed the space on smith and he had to turn around. Fair enough it was a poor final shot but it was not negativity that turned smith back, it was a poor support play from young Hayes.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 23/04/2014 21:56:44    1579307

I think the problem is the number of 50/50 decisions that went against us. For example:

1. The Dillon black card was harsh. That said, I don't know why Joe pulled the man down. There was no sense in it. Our seniors learned a valuable lesson from Damien Reilly being sent off against Fermanagh in the league last year and I'd hope all our players will learn from this.
2. Costello, who scored the winning point, should have been black carded at 32 minutes. There's a Cavan player on the ground and he goes down on him with his knees.
3. McHugh, who scored the equalising point, should not have been on the pitch either. It's clear from the coverage he was getting ready to walk and can't believe it when he gets a yellow and not a black card.
4. Not enough extra time played. The referee literally only played a few seconds over two minutes. And that after a Dublin player had spent forty seconds of it play acting.
5. The free given at the end was debatable at best. It's s very harsh free to lose a game on.
6. The advantage rule applied unfairly. Not given to us first half, given to Dublin to win the game. I also didn't see the referee with his hand up until after the Dublin player had shot.

Yes, the reaction of some afterwards was disappointing but we shouldn't allow ourselves to be walked over either. Those are alot of 50/50 decisions that went one way. These lads put in alot of effort all year to be beaten by refereeing decisions. It's been widely accepted by a number of high profile individuals that we got a raw deal.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 24/04/2014 09:00:42    1579319

Fredflint.
Ask yourself a question , which was easier to kick the ball over the bar or go for a goal?
Watch it again, should have taken his point and I think most supporters would agree with Fitzpatrick!
Doesn't matter now anyway, one thing were all agreed on is that we were hard done by.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 24/04/2014 12:05:08    1579403

Our single biggest failing was only scoring 1 point in the final 27 minutes. That's where the problem lies , nowhere else . Now until management address that well we will have to remain happy with what we have. There will be no further improvement until situations like that are sorted. So let's stop blaming the ref the venue blah blah blah. 1 point in 27 mins ??? We got what we deserved

dirtybag (Cavan) - Posts: 242 - 24/04/2014 16:00:47    1579534

Spot on desagov, point for the taking, cant see how he was trying to work a goal regardless .

celt2018 (Cavan) - Posts: 160 - 24/04/2014 16:15:59    1579544

He couldn't have been thinking of a goal from that situation.. Ciaran Brady was barying down on goal and took the point maybe that could have been passed to Tom Hayes

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 24/04/2014 18:17:31    1579618

BreffniGuide

4. Not enough extra time played. The referee literally only played a few seconds over two minutes. And that after a Dublin player had spent forty seconds of it play acting.

I will just pick one sentence if you can get a replay of the incidence you will see someone was there arguing talking or remonstrating with the referee "whatever" any time that was going to be added was lost there and then.

I think it would be a lot better to accept the result and move on. The result will not change the carry on after the match will not change peoples opinions will not change so the best way to redress this issue is go on and win it the all Ireland next year.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 24/04/2014 20:04:28    1579659

Typical Sean. You pick the one point that there can be no argument about, not enough injury time was played. Basic stuff even for a ref as bad as this fella.

PS. How cone cork people don't follow their teams. The support for cork was an embarrassment.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 24/04/2014 20:29:57    1579676