Ashamed

To those of you who entered on to the field to have a go at the referee after the final whistle, to those of you who booed the Dublin free taker consistently and cheered their wides, to those of you who threw items at the referee as he walked off the field; take a good long look at yourself. You should be ashamed.

We're Cavan, we've suffered more than most down through the years, we've found a little pocket of success and suddenly we lose the run of ourselves? I can take the loss, I can take the 40 seconds of injury time that wasn't played but I can't take the behavior of the Cavan Support today.

The players deserved to get into an All Ireland Final and I'm gutted for them that they've not done it. As a group of supporters it appears we didn't deserve a victory. We showed up with numbers, but without any class.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 19/04/2014 18:38:54    1577167

Oh get of your high horse. Do you think that if the roles were reveresed and the ref gave Cavan all the decisions today the dubs wouldnt have vented their fury at full time?. These lads train all year and give up most of their free time to play football, when they have a chance to get to an all ireland final the least they expect is a referee who is netural and fair, they didnt get that today. The supporters travel in their thousands to support their team and they also deserve a ref who will be fair to both team, its not a lot to ask and if a ref is not going to be fair then he shouldnt be allowed ref a match

EatMyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 19/04/2014 19:50:02    1577253

You are spot on 'eatmyfish'...we have too many people on here defending the preformance of this ref.... But the Gaa will see the after match scenes as bad manners rather than tackle the elephant in the room which is the poor state of refereeing which is destroying the game...!!!

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 19/04/2014 20:15:34    1577284

im more ashamed that you call yourself a cavan man john smith.
These lads are training all year..gave up there social lives for the blue jersey. and are denied an all ireland final by a referee. In my opinion what happened at the end was fully justified.

blueskies (Cavan) - Posts: 194 - 19/04/2014 20:21:47    1577291

Just because the referee is poor that gives us free reign to boo free takers from the opposition and attempt to assault the referee and throw stuff down on him as he leaves the field? To lower ourselves that much?
I was as gutted as the next supporter with how that game panned out (can only imagine how the players are feeling) but you cannot defend the indefensible.

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 19/04/2014 20:23:04    1577293

You never got worked up before JS?. Thats what happens in football

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 19/04/2014 20:25:22    1577295

JonSmith

I have to agree with JonSmith he has nailed it with his comments.

You did not see any of it after the first match again I say accept the defeat graciously. I only hope there is no fall out from what was shown on TV. Be proud we have four in a row Ulster titles and for a success starved county this is a fantastic achievement along with a minor title in the last four years. We now have promotion got to division two the standard of football will improve and who knows we might win an Ulster senior title in the next three years or so. Croke Park next week for a chance to win the division three title.
Plenty good players coming through now.

The Quiet Man (Cavan) - Posts: 4601 - 19/04/2014 20:42:59    1577314

It proves that the Paddy McBrearty incident after the Ulster Final was not a once off. Disgraceful behavior.

Norris19 (Donegal) - Posts: 11 - 19/04/2014 21:05:11    1577346

I dont think any of us are saying that what happened at full time was right, but it was understandable, there was good reason to why players/managment/supporters felt hard done by. What were the reasons the ref gave so many decisions dublins way? Why did the ref give Dillon a black card and then gave the dublin player (who then kicked the point to bring the match level) a yellow instead of a black? Why did the ref not play any extra injury time after the 2 minutes seeing as most of the 2 minutes was wasted due to subs coming on and a dublin player reciving attention due to an injury. These are questions i would like too see the ref come out and answer.

EatMyFish (Cavan) - Posts: 205 - 19/04/2014 21:26:22    1577378

DIDNT DESERVE TO WIN AN BEHAVIOUR AT THE END WAS SHOCKING

mat (Mayo) - Posts: 182 - 19/04/2014 21:44:40    1577394

Despite all, I was impressed with some of the Cavan lads, I think your senior team will benefit big time in the next few years. Hard luck on today, I was very annoyed with the people on the pitch at full time but to all decent Cavan folk, 99%, hard luck, I would have taken a draw on today's performance. Ref was poor but didn't lose you the match, we nearly beat ourselves and with one or two more forwards, you would be a serious outfit!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 19/04/2014 21:46:10    1577395

What was the McBrearty incident?

Secondly, I cant defend the actions of a few at the end who went for the referee. Disgraceful scenes that have no place on a football field.

Re the booing of a freetaker, I heard it twice, firstly when the No 10 took a tumble and won a free. He wasnt fouled, it was straight in front. And the second time was the nonsense free kick that won the Dubs the game.

I would love to know the difference between what Joe Dillon done to get a black card...i thought he got that decision right, and what the Dublin forward done to Moynagh when he got a yellow. For me both were players dragged down, hence black cards.

I feel sorry for the players who have sacrificed so much to get to where they were today. It can be handled when you are beaten by the better team, but when a refeering decision costs you the match, its has to be soul destroying.

I would like to thank the players and management for the run they brought us on, and hopfully the Seniors can bring home a trophy next weekend.

An Cabhán abú

Crash Bang Wallop (None) - Posts: 268 - 19/04/2014 21:59:44    1577409

Folks, get over it. It was a spur of the moment incident brought about by a narrow defeat. Nobody died.

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 20/04/2014 08:36:22    1577414

Why was my response to Sean not posted?

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 20/04/2014 08:57:59    1577420

I've been to a lot of Cavan matches the first being the allireland semi final in1969 against Offaly.
I was sitting in the Hogan stand with my father and I remember booing an Offaly player.
My dad tore strips of me and said that there was no place for booing at any game.
He was quite correct and I've passed that on to my son.
We lost, I'm gutted, the players who have worked so hard are gutted too.
We've all been down this road with Cavan for so long we've forgotten what success is and we all crave i so much it hurts.
Let's look at the positives from all this.
Cavan football is on the up and we need to push on from here.
Hopefully these talented footballers might get the chance to express themselves and the blanket defence would be put behind us.
Hard luck lads were all very proud of you.
UP CAVAN.

desagov (Cavan) - Posts: 208 - 20/04/2014 09:19:06    1577423

You were robbed lads. Typical GAA, Dublin is all they care about. The support levels at the game are a true reflection of GAA support levels in Dublin, so few of them at the game, hence why they get home games so often!!!!!!

theborderfox (Monaghan) - Posts: 138 - 20/04/2014 09:33:58    1577425

Shock horror, boos heard at a football game! Imagine!

Cop on to yourself whoever started this silly thread, and let the GAA sort anything out if indeed they feel the need to.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 20/04/2014 09:34:49    1577426

Ned...the Gaa will see nothing to sort out... As Wexford legend Liam Griffen once said " Gaa...the worst orgainised sport in the World " ...says it all realy

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 20/04/2014 10:26:05    1577461

I posted a reply to JonSmith and Seanorinn last night but surprise, surprise it wasent published.

To castigate the Cavan supporters the way you do is shameful for 2 so called "Cavan" men. The people who entered the pitch at the end were a very small number. I was angry with the ref but I remained in my seat. 99% of the Cavan supporters dident enter the field.How many supporters were there from Cavan compared to the other 3 counties? How many supporters travelled all over Ulster to support this team and the previous 4. So how dare ye slander our good name.
Of course Peter Reilly and a few of the players were livid. Wouldent you be if you trained for 6 months and have your dream taken away from you by inept referees.I dont condone it but I understand their frustration and anger!!
The yellow card and black is a complete farce and God only knows what will happen in the championship !!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 20/04/2014 11:04:07    1577491

Have to agree with much of what JS wrote. Hope we don't suddenly become bad losers after what we've been through over the years. I saw the so-called Mc Brearty incident, which was more the Rory Gallagher incident. A few elderly Cavan Supporters took a cheap shot at Gallagher after the Ulster Final over his disgraceful role in getting Conor Moynagh black carded. The work of a few headcases, which unfortunately every county has. I actually found it necessary to apologise to Gallagher on behalf of the wider Cavan supporters, even though I also despised him for what he did. It's about controlling ourselves and behaving properly. Those of us that are involved at coaching future talent through GoGames and beyond, teach our youngsters about respect for each other, respect for opponents and respect for referees. It's the adults we would be teaching. We have become accustomed to losing over the years since our glory days and we could always take it. Now that we are back on form, why do we feel the need to become bad losers?

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 460 - 20/04/2014 11:36:43    1577529