Cavan v Roscommon

Wishful thinkin
At least we competed in league final and should have won. There is no doubt Mackey is key man likewise K Clarke and 2 dunnes. Every team has it's first choice players. I wouldn't say that was the only reason we lost. Roscommon are well familiar with our style now and out foxed us in terms of tactics.

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 157 - 13/07/2014 14:18:41    1618222

Completely gutted by our championship performance this year, this system just about worked in Div 3 this year but not against the better teams. Enough already with the system lets get back to playing football the talent is there we need change thank you Terry and co but we need a fresh approach. If we go into Div 2 next year with the (system) we will be right back down to Div 3.
Shame what happened to Martin Reilly hope he recovers quickly, huge loss to Killygarry

ulster40 (USA) - Posts: 79 - 13/07/2014 17:07:55    1618367

Missed the last few games but attended this one. That was by far the worst Cavan display i ever witnessed. It was a pathetic display. I for one am glad we are out because at the end of the day its football and that crap i witnessed is not football and is ugly to look at. I wont be going to another match until the style changes. I think Terry's time is up and he should walk away for the good of Cavan football.

Jim_Shorts (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 13/07/2014 18:33:09    1618449

fredflint

That's a glorious list of good times there breffni dub. Beating a cork team that didn't train in breffni and nearly beating armagh. Is that the fruit of this glorious attacking football. Cavan are developing a slightly more expansive approach but we do not have forwards in the top tier so all out attack would be suicidal. We woukd be badly beaten if we go to a shoot out with roscommon today. If you think otherwise then good for you but you are wrong. The manager has earned the right to be trusted to do what is best and not listen to know nothing's on the side line. So stop moaning and support the lads today and get off Hylands back!

Well it saddens me to say it I was proved 100% right in my summation that I posted before the game. But of course you and 2 or 3 other well known Posters that I wont name think that because dedicated Cavan supporters who criticise the SYSTEM we play are criticising Terry and his Maagement team personally. By the way I know Terry a long time and what the man has done for Cavan football over the last 7 or 8 years has been brilliant. He has got young lads wanting to play for Cavan , wanting to wear the Cavan jersey, he has kids wanting to buy the Cavan jersey rather than the Man Utd jersey. He got our u21 team up and running and won 2 Ulster titles followed on by Peter Reilly with 2 more. So the groundwork has been done for the Senior team to kick on and reap the rewards. Sadly the system at U21 just doesent work at Senior level, it needs to be modified. This season unfortunately we stuck to a rigid defensive system therefore sacrificing our offensive game. Everybody copped us on and we had no Plan B !!!
Going back to Saturday night it was Embarrasing. I never saw so many Cavan fans so sad and diheartened !! Playing with the breeze and getting our 1st point after 28mins. What a sham. In all my days watching Cavan football I have never seen a worse performance. Even the hiding in Pairc O Caoimh 7 or 8 years ago wasent as bad. And yet I wouldent blame the players !!
It saddens me to say it but yes we need a change. Again I will repeat it I think we have a great young squad and with a proper system we can only improve. Get these players back playing football like Monaghan, Armagh etc and start putting out our strongest and most talented players !!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 13/07/2014 19:29:49    1618498

Are we ever going to cop on to what's happening in cavan football. Everybody posting about Mackey, gearoid, dunne etc. not one of them would be be on the panels of dublin, Kerry or mayo. The teams we need to be comparing ourselves to are Roscommon tipp . Teams that were developing when we were. The difference was that they played football . 4 u 21 forwards played for Ross yesterday and destroyed us. Where were ours. Sorry forgot we don.t play forwards at under 21 level. So let us all rejoice and celebrate that we are in div 2 next year. Only one way that is going with present management and let's look forward to winning another under21next year by probably 3points to 1. Time for clear out because same people are calling shots st both levels.

cavanforsam (Cavan) - Posts: 143 - 13/07/2014 19:50:05    1618513

The Spillanes and Brollys of this world know what they are talking about even if we dont like it. This (system)is Drek, incredibly hard to watch,unproductive, after yesterday embarrassing, AND MOST OF ALL DOES NOT WORK. We have in 3 player the potential of great mid fielders yet our goal keeper spends half the time taking short kick outs ,our corner forwards are playing in the full back line ,and were not happy unless we hand pass 20 times lateral across the field before we even consider looking at the goals . In this (system) Cavan dont need footballers just be able to run 10,000 meters in 70 minutes.Lets try this pick 6 backs to their job , same goes for the forwards and midfield and who knows we just might find out the potential of this young panel. If i hear this word (system) again ill get sick, sick i tell you enough already.

ulster40 (USA) - Posts: 79 - 13/07/2014 20:31:00    1618530

People on here are forgetting that it is not all Hylands fault here but more the County boards as they are paying an outsder who is imposing this system on all our county teams,,,minor U-21 and senior... We will be in big trouble for years if he is let continue..

Sean66 (Cavan) - Posts: 440 - 13/07/2014 21:04:59    1618560

ulster40
County: USA

I agree, well said. Every time I hear about this "system" or watch it put into action I get bored to tears. Its not a system its football, a supposedly enjoyable game, well this Cavan team are a bundle of nerves out there and most certainly are not enjoying themselves, players living in fear of having a shot, making a mistake, much easier to handpass 5 feet behind you instead of beating your marker.

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 13/07/2014 21:08:03    1618565

Promotion to Division 2, McKenna Cup final, quarter final last year. One poor championship where we were missing a huge number of players and people want to change the manager. Did we not learn anything from all those previous years of 4/5 managers in 6/7 years? We lack quality forwards and were missing our top scorer and most creative influence yesterday. Hopefully the team can regroup and this will be the making of them. People seem to forget that Roscommon team had lads with Connacht provinical and All Ireland senior club medals in their back pockets. When was the last time a Cavan senior club even won a game in Ulster? People need to be realistic. We're no world beaters and need to play to our strengths.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 13/07/2014 21:27:28    1618588

BreffniGuide

We're no world beaters and need to play to our strengths.

Which are?

Ned_Stormcrow (Cavan) - Posts: 1071 - 13/07/2014 21:46:50    1618610

the team will regroup it was a very bad day at the office and murphys law anything that could go wrong did go wrong these young guys give up a lot of time effort family stuff personal stuff .they are hurting too . we are way to quick to comment and judge waited til today to post lets look at it armagh beat us they also held monaghan to a draw they beat tyrone yesterday ,why shout to change the management and team let them look at it let them regroup rethink and reload give them a chance to change their system .some of you feel you cant support them any more thats your choice i believe these lads deserve another chance so will be behind them one hundred and ten per cent
to the lads enjoy your break relax your minds and ignore the negativity there are no perfect people although at times on this site you would wonder

asitis (Cavan) - Posts: 233 - 14/07/2014 09:41:53    1618681

BreffniGuide

We're no world beaters and need to play to our strengths.
Which are?

Do you know many teams who can compete after losing 6 or 7 first team players? I wouldn't mind but it was key players that we were missing. Three of our four Ulster All Stars and our full back. Our most creative influence and our top scorer. The second top scorer in the championship last year. That all has to be taken into account.

Its not time now for rash decision making. Its time to regroup. We have strengths that got us to an All Ireland quarter final last year. I'll admit our attacking play needs work but we've a strong backline but we do need to work at midfield and in the forwards. People talk about Tony McEntee but I don't see him being interested.

BreffniGuide (Cavan) - Posts: 474 - 14/07/2014 10:50:25    1618775

There was a lot of hysterical reaction after this disappointing display, calling for a change in Management etc based on our style of play.

I'd be more concerned at the quality of their decision making. Good Managers stand out for their ability to make changes that improve their team's performance and win games. Our Management seriously need to sharpen up their player appraisal process. In the first half Enda Smith was very well marked, despite getting through for a very well taken point. The decision to put McKeever on him for the second half, in my opinion, cost us the game. We came back out for the second half clearly determined to fight for the win. For the first two minutes, we looked re-energised and determined, despite facing the wind. Then in the space of ten minutes, Smith started to find new space and virtually destroyed us himself, scoring and setting up scores. Rather than admitting their mistake, Management sent on Tinnelly for RMD and left McKeever there for the rest of the game, clearly struggling with the pace of the game.

Many will say that Ross were going to win anyway and that it was just a matter of time. I disagree. They only started to play with confidence when they got a run on us. It could have been the other way round if our second half resurgence had not been strangled before it got going. In short, we shot ourselves in the foot with a bad call and failed to correct it. They either didn't see it or failed to admit it. The rest of the game was as inevitable as a house of cards collapsing.

ondforty (Cavan) - Posts: 459 - 14/07/2014 11:20:23    1618803

Folks, things have not run smoothly during this campaign. However, I have no doubt that the lost momentum can be regained in 2015. In some ways the four under 21 titles have exhausted everyone. I thought we looked a tired team on Saturday evening. I would not be calling for a change of manager. However, their needs to be a new dynamic in the set up in 2015, be that a change in the backroom and or a change in style. Next year will be managements fourth Championship campaign and momentum needs to be regained.

Aa I watched the game directly below the Spanish students I could not but wonder at the style of play being adopted. We had the wind in the first half. Martin Reilly started nearer our full back line than the Roscommon full backline. It's not an easy style of play on the eye and I doubt that it is a style of play that is enjoyable to the players.

Management deserve one more year to move things forward and I hope that they are given that opportunity!

kildare blue (Cavan) - Posts: 578 - 14/07/2014 13:13:09    1618907

asitis

the team will regroup it was a very bad day at the office and murphys law anything that could go wrong did go wrong these young guys give up a lot of time effort family stuff personal stuff .they are hurting too . we are way to quick to comment and judge waited til today to post lets look at it armagh beat us they also held monaghan to a draw they beat tyrone yesterday ,why shout to change the management and team let them look at it let them regroup rethink and reload give them a chance to change their system .some of you feel you cant support them any more thats your choice i believe these lads deserve another chance so will be behind them one hundred and ten per cent
to the lads enjoy your break relax your minds and ignore the negativity there are no perfect people although at times on this site you would wonder

There is no shame in losing to Armagh or Roscommon it's the style of play everyone is up in arms about. it's bad enough watching that tripe if you are winning but watching it when you are losing..and losing badly , well that's a different matter.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 14/07/2014 13:19:32    1618919

Firstly I would like to compliment cavan
On their immense underage structure that has been the envy of every county in Ireland but I must add that winning should not be the be all and end all of underage teams.the most important thing should be the development of the footballer and with the tactics used by your management at senior and under age it
Is completely destroying the needs of the greater good.roscommon would be a great barometer for cavan and while they might not of won as many provincial titles they are in a lot healthier position

theriddler (Wicklow) - Posts: 193 - 14/07/2014 13:35:20    1618942

I said id have a look on this to see the Reaction.to. Be honest we were always going to that game. No county can cope with a loss of seven starters. A fresh start next year with a fully fit Mackkey who's as good ass dooher imo and cavan will be Up there. Hyland has done a lot forr ye as Evans and o. Donnell has done a lot for us.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 519 - 14/07/2014 19:36:46    1619293

Personally I think it is a disgrace the way Mackey was treated by the county team this year. He has had the same injury from the end of last year but was constantly played when he shouldn't have played any of the league.

BootIt (Cavan) - Posts: 136 - 14/07/2014 19:45:00    1619294