"We'll take the draw" - Kavanagh

February 05, 2019

Carlow's Marty Kavanagh.
©INPHO/Lorraine O'Sullivan.

Martin Kavanagh says “the roars were unbelievable” at Dr Cullen Park on Sunday as Carlow’s hurlers dramatically drew with Galway.

Kavanagh slotted the levelling point from a last-gasp free as the Barrowsiders shared the spoils with the Tribesmen in what was a clash of the 2017 Christy Ring Cup and Liam MacCarthy Cup winners:

“No one expected it, but we would have savage belief in our group,” the St Mullins clubman told The Irish Independent. “If we had got pipped by a point, it would have been the usual story. You'd be hearing for the next few weeks ‘Jaysus ye had a savage game’ or ‘ye pushed them close’.

“That was always happening for us and we were always going the wrong side of it. There was no going down valiantly by a point or two this time. We were five points down in the second half and could have easily just tuned out but we kept at our game plan and it worked. We could have won, but we'll take the draw.

“It's been a great couple of years. The buzz that's there for Carlow GAA is something that hasn't been there for a long, long time and it's definitely there now. I've never heard anything like Sunday.

“When we were going score for score in the last ten minutes, the roars were unbelievable, it was brilliant scenes after the match with lads coming onto you so hopefully they'll follow us down to Waterford now.”

Most Read Stories