Four changes for Faithful

01 March 2013

Offaly's Paul McConway
Offaly make four changes for visit of Micko's Clare in Allianz Football League

THE Offaly side announced to face Mick O'Dwyer's Clare in the third round of the Allianz Football League this Sunday, March 3rd at 2pm in O'Connor Park, Tullamore shows four changes in personnel from the team that lost out to Limerick, 1-8 to 0-12, in round two on February 10th.

Anton Sullivan, David Hanlon, Ross Brady and Sean Pender aren't included and into the starting fifteen come Paul McConway, John Moloney, Willie Mulhall and Peter Cunningham.

Sullivan and Hanlon have been ruled out through injury, with Sullivan facing a particularly lengthy spell out of action after he dislocated his shoulder for the fourth occasion during a Defence Forces match last Friday. The Rhode club-man will have to undergo surgery and an intensive rehabilitation programme, effectively ruling him out for the remainder of the season.

Tullamore duo Paul McConway and John Moloney are selected in central defensive roles, with Walsh Island's Willie Mulhall selected at centre forward and Bracknagh's Peter Cunningham at top of the left.

Walsh Island's Brian Connor, who scored 1-2 against Limerick last time out and lined out with Leinster during their 0-17 to 3-12 M Donnelly Interprovincial Final loss against Ulster last Sunday at Croke Park, has been selected at mid-field alongside Rhode's Alan McNamee.

The Offaly squad is;

1 Alan Mulhall (Walsh Island)

2 Brian Darby (Rhode)
3 Paul McConway (Tullamore)

4 Eoin Rigney (Rhode)
5 Graham Guilfoyle (Clara)
6 John Moloney (Tullamore)
7 Michael Brazil (Tullamore)
8 Brian Connor (Walsh Island)

9 Alan McNamee (Rhode)

10 Derek Kelly (Edenderry)

11 Willie Mulhall (Walsh Island)

12 Eoin Carroll (Cappincur)

13 Bernard Allen (Tubber)
14 Niall McNamee Capt. (Rhode)

15 Peter Cunningham (Bracknagh)


16 Gavin Sheil (Killeigh)

17 Matthew Mitchell (Clara)

18 Sean Pender (Edenderry)

19 Richie Dalton (Edenderry)
20 Ross Brady (Clara)
21 Ruairi Allen (Gracefield)

22 Michael Verney (Birr)

23 James McPadden (Rhode)

24 Paul McPadden (Rhode)

25 Keith McGuinness (Edenderry)

26 Joe Maher (Ferbane)

Most Read Stories