2019 Munster SHC fixtures: Limerick receive bye in first round

October 12, 2018

Limerick's Declan Hannon and manager John Kiely celebrate with the Liam MacCarthy

All-Ireland champions Limerick have received a bye in the first round of next year's Munster senior hurling championship.

John Kiely's men, who ended the Treaty County's 45-year wait for the Liam MacCarthy Cup last August, will begin the 2019 championship with a home clash against provincial champions Cork on May 18/19 before playing three games in as many weeks versus Waterford, Clare and Tipperary, in that order.

The 2019 Munster senior hurling championship will begin on May 11/12, a week earlier than 2018 with the round-robin series being run over a 6-week period and allowing a break weekend for all counties on May 25/26.

2019 Munster SHC fixtures

May 11/12: Cork v Tipperary; Waterford v Clare; Limerick Bye

May 18/19: Limerick v Cork; Tipperary v Waterford; Clare Bye

June 1/2: Waterford v Limerick; Clare v Tipperary; Cork Bye

June 8/9: Limerick v Clare; Cork v Waterford; Tipperary Bye

June 15/16: Clare v Cork; Tipperary v Limerick; Waterford Bye

There are fifteen county finals taking place this weekend with ten of those in football. Join our match tracker on Sunday afternoon for live updates from around the county grounds.

Most Read Stories