Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Antrim are crap, and we were crap on Saturday. Kilkenny showed how crap they are and some players only joined the panel when there was a Portuguese training camp.
But we made heroes of them, through poor effort and a second rate attitude rather than us going out and putting them to the sword. The intensity of the matches yesterday was a street ahead from what I saw (falling asleep during Limerick Tipp) and there is no way anybody can say we can live with that and anyone saying we can is delusional. We did in 2019 but have not done so since against anybody bar Kilkenny teams with nothing to play for.
A general point, up to this year I could have gone home for 6 weeks and played all our meaninful hurling. Even stretching it out is padding. We are trying to sit between hurling and football stools and failing at both. Its not as though we are shooting the lights out at football a la the noughties and our hurlers are brutal. We are brutal at both. I think some in Wexford don't care about being s***e once we are s***e at both games.
We simply can't play important hurling or football for 8 weeks of the year and expect to be any good at either of them. Its just not how it works. For either game. Soccer is king in Wexford and it serves the GAA right that they mopped up the remainder of the calendar through their own inability to provide a year round calendar for players.
If Lee Chin had kept playing both he might have been a good player, but since he dedicated himself to one he has become a hero saving Wexford hurling from a cataclysmic situation.
One other point, I played both adult hurling and football in the county for almost 8 years and I think unlike other counties our championships completely lack cut and fire and brimstone. There was about 4-5 real scraps in that time involving our club, I know clubs in Kilkenny and Tipp where that would happen in a season. Its completely lacking in real edge and dog eat dog.
Well done to the minors, they can hopefully back it up on Saturday v Galway and gave us a beacon of hope."
That's not accurate. I agree for the most part but Kilkenny could have been knocked out in 22 and we should have beaten Clare too

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2676 - 29/04/2024 11:43:50    2541432

Not here to kick you when down again but you need to face facts lads. Your level is now Antrim and Dublin, not Galway and Kilkenny. 10 of the same 15 from 2019 says stasis in a panel. It should never be that comfortable. But then, who is pushing them off the team? No one.

People who have proposals on here for how to change and in clubs tend to be hushed in favour of committee yes men who "know how things are done", or "that won't work" attitude without even trying.

I hate the administrative side of the game and know it has to be done but I have asked our club rep to raise again and again the issue of combined colleges for those players who are not with GCC/Peters/Enniscorthy CBS. Never saw it even on the agenda bulletin on the site. It was tried once, didn't work and never tried again without so much as a question as to "why" or "how could it be made work".

I was laughed at here when I said we should have 7's winter leagues on 4G pitches yet every tom dick and harry in the county plays astro soccer all winter in all sorts of weather.

A Bekan style facility would also reduce the pressure on the club championship and allow games all winter, it could be busy from 10am on a Saturday until 8pm on Sunday evening and provide an appealing year round product. These things cost money I know but commercially Wexford GAA seem to be savvy and always have initiatives to make money yet when it comes to providing facilities for the entire playing population it doesn't seem to be there.

Wexford simply can't continue to shoehorn equal playing of hurling and football in to the calendar as it is, my attitude is screw the Leinster club championships the needs of players locally is far more important. Most clubs don't take it seriously anyway or are way off the pace of other counties, take your pick which based on the results.
Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

The Buffers Alley or Rathnure or Oulart argument for 1 code doesn't wash with me because I would say they have much less playing numbers of Shelamaliers, Barntown or St. Martins for example. I don't think football is the problem it is made out to be, but I think both codes would benefit from much more specialisation in one from certain clubs. When I moved to Wexford, the whole New Ross district was a hotbed of football. Don't know what has happened to that.

But everything in Wexford is still about 96. Even that South East Radio presenter wanting Martin Storey over the team. Look at the Wexford hurling podcast, intro all about a long ball in to Billy Byrne and Martin Storeys speech. Has there been nothing since they could get a sound bite off?

Back to Saturday, I did not see the game but I believe Antrim just wanted it more. How you fix that mindset I don't know, its either in a man or it isn't. Some are passengers and idly let games slip them by. The Sunday Game highlights looked like the pace of a club match.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1129 - 29/04/2024 11:55:51    2541437

Lads we are finished,we are at that level and the form is there to support it!!! Total difference in league and championship where U can get space and U can pretty much play what ever way U wish without much pressure on!!! False dawn this year with the league!!! Not strong enough simple,in championship,space is at a premium and in that situation we can't cope,compared to league when U can go and do what U want and visually look good but it's not real!!! Just havnt got the players and that's it,and unfortunately our best are coming to an end and we have no replacements!!! Dark days ahead!!!

theboys (Wexford) - Posts: 215 - 29/04/2024 11:57:32    2541439

Replying To Viking66:  "MOH would've won that ball that Dooley didn't for the 2nd goal against Antrim"
I agree there although I had thought you were suggesting that he wasn't really suited to being full-back

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 260 - 29/04/2024 12:08:56    2541445

I can see some of the logic behind starting Jippo at 11 given how our half-forward line has struggled time and time again against Galway's half-back line although I'd still prefer to see him at 3, we need to solidify the spine of our defence and our half-back line and moving Jippo to 3 and MOH to 6 is the best way to do that

Could maybe move Conor Foley to midfield, don't think he's been that great so far but hasn't been that bad, has been ok on the whole. The two goals we let in on Sunday were soft and Kilkenny would have made sure to take out any runners coming through like that, Foley is one of our few players who I think had that dog in him and would take out a player in that instance

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 260 - 29/04/2024 12:15:12    2541446

Replying To buckler91:  "Very sensible post......it was tough stuff leaving Corrigan Park on Saturday."
It was as low as the Westmeath game last year, 7 points up midway through 2nd half we give up a big lead again. Our mentality , attitude and workrate just has to change or we are staring down the barrell of relegation again. We are not All ireland contenders but this group of players and management should be embarrassed by what they have produced the last 2 weeks we are capable of so much better. Both management and players need to step up to the plate starting Saturday. I cant see a big crowd being there at all its hard to have confidence in what we are trying to achieve after the last 2 games but all we can do is be there . It's up to the players to show pride and quality now Saturday those of us who bother to turn up to support will be there to get behind them then

Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 99 - 29/04/2024 12:15:37    2541447

Replying To theboys:  "Lads we are finished,we are at that level and the form is there to support it!!! Total difference in league and championship where U can get space and U can pretty much play what ever way U wish without much pressure on!!! False dawn this year with the league!!! Not strong enough simple,in championship,space is at a premium and in that situation we can't cope,compared to league when U can go and do what U want and visually look good but it's not real!!! Just havnt got the players and that's it,and unfortunately our best are coming to an end and we have no replacements!!! Dark days ahead!!!"
Frustration is understandable but this is not constructive.

Haven't the players is an easy excuse and frankly illogical.

We were a puck of a ball away in the last two under 20 championships.

There are players. The next stage of development is what we seem to be missing.

We haven't converted enough of the minor team from 19 either.

We need to get more of those lads up the level faster than we have been.

To be fair, Egan tried this last year and Rossi in the League. This is the Davy hangover. As depressing as it is , complaining about it or giving up won't help.

Realistically we need replacements for fanning, MOH, Chinner, Dee, mogie and Mac fairly quickly.

I'm particularly disappointed that Kyle scallan, conal Clancy, conal flood and seamie o Hagan aren't involved at the minute.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2676 - 29/04/2024 12:38:46    2541455

Replying To Afinestick96:  "It was as low as the Westmeath game last year, 7 points up midway through 2nd half we give up a big lead again. Our mentality , attitude and workrate just has to change or we are staring down the barrell of relegation again. We are not All ireland contenders but this group of players and management should be embarrassed by what they have produced the last 2 weeks we are capable of so much better. Both management and players need to step up to the plate starting Saturday. I cant see a big crowd being there at all its hard to have confidence in what we are trying to achieve after the last 2 games but all we can do is be there . It's up to the players to show pride and quality now Saturday those of us who bother to turn up to support will be there to get behind them then"
Saturday in a way annoyed me more than either Westmeath game, when we drew with Westmeath in 2022 at the time I was hoping it was just a blip as it was 1st big stumble as favorites since before Davy was involved, last year was a disaster but I hoped it was a watershed moment across the board to show you can't anyone for granted, Saturday just felt like groundhog day. As already pointed out the main difference in the teams in the last 20 mins on Saturday was Antrim simply wanted it more and I hate saying that. I think we need a call to arms Saturday just like the Kilkenny game last year, this team is testing my patience and I'm sure others but we have to row in behind them in the there toughest hour just like last year.

Couldn't get to Belfast myself Saturday due to a family event Saturday evening but got in to the Minor game and well done to all involved there, Sean O'Brien put on some display and it was a really entertaining game, word of caution is everyone in the group of 4 has 1 win and 1 loss with Galway beating Dublin so just like nobody needed to panic after losing to Dublin no need to get carried away Saturday, interesting to see no sign of Wexfordminor92 here after the win.

Disappointed u20s are away to Dublin in Leinster QF, played them in Parnell last year too so taught we'd be due a home game.

TerribleFootwork (Wexford) - Posts: 1730 - 29/04/2024 12:42:21    2541456

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Lads on here watch wexford play and still think jacko shouldnt be a starter. Wow."
Many of us have watched Jacko play for Wexford in recent years....

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 210 - 29/04/2024 12:45:04    2541458

We do need to keep the support up on Saturday it a vital game from a relegation point of view(for us) and the minors deserved the support as well.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 942 - 29/04/2024 12:55:25    2541460

Replying To Afinestick96:  "I really hope that's not true he is not a forward"
Agreed, I'd play him at 6. Might be easier play there than at 3 for his first game of the season. He won't be letting lads run down the middle like Reck did anyway. Shane Reck to follow Mannion everywhere. Mac has done well v Galway before but we have to go back to Casey to avoid the lash it in tactics. Donnelly seemed to pick up loads of ball for KK in Salthill so maybe try Rory in a similar role. Rossi needs to lay down a few markers with his team selection, Damien Reck is a fine player but couldn't have any complaints if dropped so I'd start there.

Duggan, Murphy, Foley, S Reck, Devitt, Ryan, MOH, Hearne, Lawlor, Dwyer, ROC, Chin, Foley, Casey, Byrne

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 210 - 29/04/2024 12:59:06    2541461

Replying To Waltermitty2:  "Lads on here watch wexford play and still think jacko shouldnt be a starter. Wow."
100% needs to start.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 84 - 29/04/2024 13:01:22    2541462

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "Not here to kick you when down again but you need to face facts lads. Your level is now Antrim and Dublin, not Galway and Kilkenny. 10 of the same 15 from 2019 says stasis in a panel. It should never be that comfortable. But then, who is pushing them off the team? No one.

People who have proposals on here for how to change and in clubs tend to be hushed in favour of committee yes men who "know how things are done", or "that won't work" attitude without even trying.

I hate the administrative side of the game and know it has to be done but I have asked our club rep to raise again and again the issue of combined colleges for those players who are not with GCC/Peters/Enniscorthy CBS. Never saw it even on the agenda bulletin on the site. It was tried once, didn't work and never tried again without so much as a question as to "why" or "how could it be made work".

I was laughed at here when I said we should have 7's winter leagues on 4G pitches yet every tom dick and harry in the county plays astro soccer all winter in all sorts of weather.

A Bekan style facility would also reduce the pressure on the club championship and allow games all winter, it could be busy from 10am on a Saturday until 8pm on Sunday evening and provide an appealing year round product. These things cost money I know but commercially Wexford GAA seem to be savvy and always have initiatives to make money yet when it comes to providing facilities for the entire playing population it doesn't seem to be there.

Wexford simply can't continue to shoehorn equal playing of hurling and football in to the calendar as it is, my attitude is screw the Leinster club championships the needs of players locally is far more important. Most clubs don't take it seriously anyway or are way off the pace of other counties, take your pick which based on the results.
Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different result.

The Buffers Alley or Rathnure or Oulart argument for 1 code doesn't wash with me because I would say they have much less playing numbers of Shelamaliers, Barntown or St. Martins for example. I don't think football is the problem it is made out to be, but I think both codes would benefit from much more specialisation in one from certain clubs. When I moved to Wexford, the whole New Ross district was a hotbed of football. Don't know what has happened to that.

But everything in Wexford is still about 96. Even that South East Radio presenter wanting Martin Storey over the team. Look at the Wexford hurling podcast, intro all about a long ball in to Billy Byrne and Martin Storeys speech. Has there been nothing since they could get a sound bite off?

Back to Saturday, I did not see the game but I believe Antrim just wanted it more. How you fix that mindset I don't know, its either in a man or it isn't. Some are passengers and idly let games slip them by. The Sunday Game highlights looked like the pace of a club match."
I won't pass judgment on your suggestions BUT will say I totally agree that doing the same thing and expecting a different outcome is madness. We have to be brutally honest with ourselves too something is not right and for those who think 'it will come right' over time, just look at Kildare, Meath, Cavan to name a few big football counties who are sinking, passed by the likes of Derry, Monaghan. Some of the same malaise is detectable (Dublin are what Kilkenny were in Lienster hurling for 20 odd years) and I believe massive hammering impact a counties psychology. They are also probably living in the past on past glories. None of them can blame hurling.

Can a county nominate a club to progress to the Leinster club championship? If so lets just put the previous years winners forward and ignore it as any sort of deadline for our club games.

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 56 - 29/04/2024 13:03:25    2541464

Reading some John Keily's comments after yesterday.

Not reading to much into the outcome but looking at the source and the source is energy.

Something we have not shown in the last 2 games

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 84 - 29/04/2024 13:04:35    2541465

Some of the stuff on here is self pitying nonsense. You lost a game to us. Big deal, get over it.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9705 - 29/04/2024 13:07:38    2541467

Replying To theboys:  "Lads we are finished,we are at that level and the form is there to support it!!! Total difference in league and championship where U can get space and U can pretty much play what ever way U wish without much pressure on!!! False dawn this year with the league!!! Not strong enough simple,in championship,space is at a premium and in that situation we can't cope,compared to league when U can go and do what U want and visually look good but it's not real!!! Just havnt got the players and that's it,and unfortunately our best are coming to an end and we have no replacements!!! Dark days ahead!!!"
I honestly think we are going through a 'changing of the guard' phase with respect to hurling and football similar to what we had in the period 2006 to 2012.
Looking at it I think the footballers are on a rise. I wouldn't be surprised to see the as serious contenders for the Tailteann cup. (with a bit of composure the could have beaten Louth and made a Leinster final which would have put them competing for Sam Maguire this year). Anyway the footballers will be in the Championship longer this year than the hurlers.
I do think they are on the rise and that would then sway it that some of the Dual players might jump the other way If Wexford are making the Sam Maguire playing the likes of Kerry Derry Donegal Dublin Mayo plus a good showing in the Leinster Championship each year - Semi final /final. 2 or 3 games in croker each year. Its a much better prospect than getting beaten by Antrim in Corrigan park or Westmeath in Mullingar.
Am not Anti Hurling at all - just saying - you heard it here first.

bystanderbill (Wexford) - Posts: 24 - 29/04/2024 13:09:29    2541468

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I agree there although I had thought you were suggesting that he wasn't really suited to being full-back"
No I was suggesting our wingbacks aren't suited to being wingbacks

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11911 - 29/04/2024 13:16:47    2541471

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I can see some of the logic behind starting Jippo at 11 given how our half-forward line has struggled time and time again against Galway's half-back line although I'd still prefer to see him at 3, we need to solidify the spine of our defence and our half-back line and moving Jippo to 3 and MOH to 6 is the best way to do that

Could maybe move Conor Foley to midfield, don't think he's been that great so far but hasn't been that bad, has been ok on the whole. The two goals we let in on Sunday were soft and Kilkenny would have made sure to take out any runners coming through like that, Foley is one of our few players who I think had that dog in him and would take out a player in that instance"
Conor Foley has been a midfielder since he started playing on a team pretty much

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11911 - 29/04/2024 13:17:42    2541472

Replying To StoreysTash:  "Antrim are crap, and we were crap on Saturday. Kilkenny showed how crap they are and some players only joined the panel when there was a Portuguese training camp.
But we made heroes of them, through poor effort and a second rate attitude rather than us going out and putting them to the sword. The intensity of the matches yesterday was a street ahead from what I saw (falling asleep during Limerick Tipp) and there is no way anybody can say we can live with that and anyone saying we can is delusional. We did in 2019 but have not done so since against anybody bar Kilkenny teams with nothing to play for.
A general point, up to this year I could have gone home for 6 weeks and played all our meaninful hurling. Even stretching it out is padding. We are trying to sit between hurling and football stools and failing at both. Its not as though we are shooting the lights out at football a la the noughties and our hurlers are brutal. We are brutal at both. I think some in Wexford don't care about being s***e once we are s***e at both games.
We simply can't play important hurling or football for 8 weeks of the year and expect to be any good at either of them. Its just not how it works. For either game. Soccer is king in Wexford and it serves the GAA right that they mopped up the remainder of the calendar through their own inability to provide a year round calendar for players.
If Lee Chin had kept playing both he might have been a good player, but since he dedicated himself to one he has become a hero saving Wexford hurling from a cataclysmic situation.
One other point, I played both adult hurling and football in the county for almost 8 years and I think unlike other counties our championships completely lack cut and fire and brimstone. There was about 4-5 real scraps in that time involving our club, I know clubs in Kilkenny and Tipp where that would happen in a season. Its completely lacking in real edge and dog eat dog.
Well done to the minors, they can hopefully back it up on Saturday v Galway and gave us a beacon of hope."
Dry yer eyes.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9705 - 29/04/2024 13:23:07    2541476