Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To munsterchamps:  "i cant figure out whats gone wrong with wexford hurling . ye seem to have some very good hurlers and should be well able to beat the dublins antrims and westmeaths . i taught that when rossiter came in there would be a kick in ye this year. i was there in 96 in the canal end when ye beat us and the place went wild after the final whistle... something is just not right."
Less thinking (tactics) and more hurling!!!!

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 382 - 28/04/2024 13:21:17    2541151

Should give Antrim credit, they basically wanted the win more, we can't except one class hurler to win every game on his own, Chin is putting in a monumental effort scored 3-23 of our 3-41 total in 2 games.

Jedobi (Wexford) - Posts: 157 - 28/04/2024 13:23:36    2541152

Replying To Jedobi:  "Should give Antrim credit, they basically wanted the win more, we can't except one class hurler to win every game on his own, Chin is putting in a monumental effort scored 3-23 of our 3-41 total in 2 games."
According to wikipedia, so mightn't be 100% accurate but usually close enough, he drew level with Rackard as our top championship scorer ever. Which is some going- the maddest thing about it though is Chin has 9 championship goals to date, Rackard just the 59.

Deserving of a place among our best ever without question.

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1424 - 28/04/2024 13:52:49    2541160

Replying To Jedobi:  "Should give Antrim credit, they basically wanted the win more, we can't except one class hurler to win every game on his own, Chin is putting in a monumental effort scored 3-23 of our 3-41 total in 2 games."
We're set up to make that happen. Chin is class but we aren't a one man team.

We've abandoned a good style of play for chin's strengths which clearly isn't working.

The big thing yesterday was when we went 7 up, instead of trying to bury the game we started farting around. It's ultimately cost us our season.

I think we'll get big performances for Galway and Kilkenny now and everyone will say it's all rosie.

Ultimately Griffin said 96 wasn't the end, it was the beginning. He implored everyone to take responsibility for keeping us there.

What did we do? Talked about it for nearly 30 years.

Instead of trying to be better we made excuses.

Sure it's grand, didn't we get to a semi final? Sure they were unlucky there last year... sure didn't we beat Clare, Waterford, Tipp, Kilkenny etc.

One big game a year just isn't enough.

No more excuses.

We need to get serious now are we are finished. It might already be too late.

I will say this though... Not to long ago Limerick couldn't win a match. They're now one of the best teams ever. It can be done.

We need to find a way to get more out of primary schools, kids need to understand our history.

There's loads of nice little sports. Hurling is something totally different and we need to start acting like it.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2738 - 28/04/2024 14:00:32    2541163

Replying To benchtoaster:  "The amount of wexford people online calling the loss today a disgrace and a 'black day' for wexford hurling. Would ye learn to have some respect for the hurling people of other counties!! There's plenty of good hurlers in Antrim, Westmeath, Carlow etc, a bit of decorum lads instead of putting an opponent who beats ye fair and square down all the time!"
Sorry but your just wrong here. Every single post has said Antrim deserved to win. Wexford were bad. You can say both.

Numerous people have said wexford are under severe pressure against Carlow in 3 weeks time.

We can be self reflective ( which for once wexford fans are doing ) and say we were not good and discuss our clear failings while admiring Antrims performance. They are not mutual exclusive.

Your looking for something that is not there.

Wexican55 (Wexford) - Posts: 8 - 28/04/2024 14:00:37    2541164

Replying To Past hurler:  "I still come back to the fact the standard of Wexford club hurling is at an all time low, if you grow up playing pedestrian paced hurling it's hard to transfer that over to inter county.

1 x Leinster senior club hurling title in the last 28 years

No Wexford club had ever won a Leinster intermediate club title

3 x Leinster junior club titles in 23 years which is a little bit better.

There is no quick fix to this.

Primary schools hurling, post primary Schools hurling, club hurling etc all needs to be fixed first before the senior county team will improve.

There is no quick fix or manager who will improve that.

We had one good year in 2019 since 2004 let's not kid ourselves."
When the likes of Rathnure and Oulart were going well and winning Leinster club finals, our county team was arguably worse than it is now. To be honest I think there is limitation correlation between the strength of the club scene and any county team. Senior county players come from the underage panels these days.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 219 - 28/04/2024 14:22:22    2541166

I think it's time everyone wakes up and smells the coffee. We will never and I mean never compete at the business end of the Liam Mccarthy again unless we change our own games programme and championship structure. If that is to the detriment of the football side of things then so be it. We cannot be slaves to two masters and have it both ways unless you have the population of the Corks and Galways.
Can anyone answer what percentage of our Senior Hurling team play either Intermediate or Senior Club football championship??
If it's similar to Limerick, Kilkenny, Tipperary, Clare and Waterford then I apologise but I bet Wexfords is way higher.
Of course you can pick out examples of players playing well doing both but we need 120 Senior Club players at roughly Inter County standard. The other Counties I named have those numbers. Do we?
Even Antrim would have 100 players capable of playing Inter County.
Their top 3 teams would all win the Wexford Senior Hurling Championship.
How many of the Antrim players who played again us yesterday play football at either Senior or Intermediate level for their clubs? They have not had an underage team do anything for the last 10 years yet still get enough good hurlers to beat us.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 179 - 28/04/2024 15:18:43    2541172

Replying To Paull:  "I think it's time everyone wakes up and smells the coffee. We will never and I mean never compete at the business end of the Liam Mccarthy again unless we change our own games programme and championship structure. If that is to the detriment of the football side of things then so be it. We cannot be slaves to two masters and have it both ways unless you have the population of the Corks and Galways.
Can anyone answer what percentage of our Senior Hurling team play either Intermediate or Senior Club football championship??
If it's similar to Limerick, Kilkenny, Tipperary, Clare and Waterford then I apologise but I bet Wexfords is way higher.
Of course you can pick out examples of players playing well doing both but we need 120 Senior Club players at roughly Inter County standard. The other Counties I named have those numbers. Do we?
How many of the Antrim players who played again us yesterday play football at either Senior or Intermediate level for their clubs? They have not had an underage team do anything for the last 10 years yet still get enough good hurlers to beat us."
The same structure didn't stop us winning a Leinster in 2019 or being competitive in general in Davy's tenure

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 28/04/2024 15:50:56    2541179

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "The same structure didn't stop us winning a Leinster in 2019 or being competitive in general in Davy's tenure"
We average 1 All Ireland every 30 years.
If things dont change quickly that average will get worse.
If we are happy with that then fair enough.
Maybe we take competing at the highest level too seriously.. Sure it's all about taking part.
If there were All Ireland medals given out based on the percentage of how many dual players each County has we would be top of the table.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 179 - 28/04/2024 16:22:35    2541191

Am I right in presuming next weekend is a double header with the minors v Galway on before the seniors?

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 126 - 28/04/2024 16:24:04    2541192

Replying To Doylerwex:  "We're set up to make that happen. Chin is class but we aren't a one man team.

We've abandoned a good style of play for chin's strengths which clearly isn't working.

The big thing yesterday was when we went 7 up, instead of trying to bury the game we started farting around. It's ultimately cost us our season.

I think we'll get big performances for Galway and Kilkenny now and everyone will say it's all rosie.

Ultimately Griffin said 96 wasn't the end, it was the beginning. He implored everyone to take responsibility for keeping us there.

What did we do? Talked about it for nearly 30 years.

Instead of trying to be better we made excuses.

Sure it's grand, didn't we get to a semi final? Sure they were unlucky there last year... sure didn't we beat Clare, Waterford, Tipp, Kilkenny etc.

One big game a year just isn't enough.

No more excuses.

We need to get serious now are we are finished. It might already be too late.

I will say this though... Not to long ago Limerick couldn't win a match. They're now one of the best teams ever. It can be done.

We need to find a way to get more out of primary schools, kids need to understand our history.

There's loads of nice little sports. Hurling is something totally different and we need to start acting like it."
I live in Limerick and I'm a member of a club down here. Having been at the majority of club games down here since I've lived here and also travelling back for my own clubs games …If you put any of the big 4 clubs in to our championship down home (Na Piarsaigh, the Well, Kilmallock and Doon) they'd win it more or less unapposed, in particular the first two mentioned at 21/20 level they've managed to win an all Ireland (hammering us in one) I'd suggest to anyone who wants to listen about how limerick went about their resurgence OTB did a piece on it a few years back it's on Spotify. Egos and rivalries were left to one side and getting them back to the top table was put to the forefront, people can say that McManus money is the main reason but money isn't out there putting the ball over the bar.

People blamed Egan last year and the year before for results against Westmeath and Dublin, but I'm still struggling to see where improvements have been made by individuals this year, our league results were good but if we were to play Cork, Clare, Kilkenny or even Waterford in the championship the likelihood of us replicating those results is very unlikely..We still cannot field a ball in our half back line or half forward line, any time the ball is launched in anywhere near our goalmouth we're shaking in our boots, half back line don't know whether to play a pass forward or to play it back to Fanning - am I genuinely missing something here as to what is the positive to be gained from doing that?

After the FT whistle yesterday I was disappointed but absolutely by no means surprised.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 70 - 28/04/2024 16:36:54    2541198

Replying To Paull:  "I think it's time everyone wakes up and smells the coffee. We will never and I mean never compete at the business end of the Liam Mccarthy again unless we change our own games programme and championship structure. If that is to the detriment of the football side of things then so be it. We cannot be slaves to two masters and have it both ways unless you have the population of the Corks and Galways.
How many of the Antrim players who played again us yesterday play football at either Senior or Intermediate level for their clubs? They have not had an underage team do anything for the last 10 years yet still get enough good hurlers to beat us."
Be careful Paull going down the dual player route. After all Wexford as a county is being true to the ethos of the Gaa. Unfortunately there's no trophies being handed out for that but sure we should applaud ourselves anyway

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 489 - 28/04/2024 16:43:17    2541201

Replying To Paull:  "We average 1 All Ireland every 30 years.
If things dont change quickly that average will get worse.
If we are happy with that then fair enough.
Maybe we take competing at the highest level too seriously.. Sure it's all about taking part.
If there were All Ireland medals given out based on the percentage of how many dual players each County has we would be top of the table."
I see the blame football brigade is out in full force again. 3 best players we had yesterday all played football for most there careers, where was everyone else????? From the so called hurling clubs. Sure add in an extra championship game for the hurling, that'll really change things

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 173 - 28/04/2024 17:19:11    2541208

Looking ahead to Galway.

A ruthless manager like Cody would drop at least 5 players after yesterday's performance. No guaranteed starters.

So fanning, murphy, donaghue, mcgovern, foley and Dunbar need a rest. If Keith keeps faith with them then no competition for places.

Yellowhelmet (Australia) - Posts: 90 - 28/04/2024 17:23:53    2541209

Replying To WexMurph:  "I see the blame football brigade is out in full force again. 3 best players we had yesterday all played football for most there careers, where was everyone else????? From the so called hurling clubs. Sure add in an extra championship game for the hurling, that'll really change things"
There is no blame the Football brigade here .
Let me say it a different way.
Our Senior Hurling team sit roughly 8-10 in Ireland and IMO every team above have more better hurlers mainly because they play less Football.
And as they play less Football, what do you think happens?? They play more Hurling.
And what happens because they play more Hurling? They get better at it.
Our Senior Football team sit roughly 24 -26 in Ireland and IMO most every team above them have more better Footballers mainly because they play less Hurling.
And as they play less Hurling what do you think happens?? They play more Football.
And what happens because they play more Football?
They get better at it.
No blame game here. Just logical thinking.

Paull (Wexford) - Posts: 179 - 28/04/2024 18:13:00    2541225

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "Looking ahead to Galway.

A ruthless manager like Cody would drop at least 5 players after yesterday's performance. No guaranteed starters.

So fanning, murphy, donaghue, mcgovern, foley and Dunbar need a rest. If Keith keeps faith with them then no competition for places."
I think Rory O Connor is suspended as he got yellows in the Dublin and Antrim game. It makes any reaction to loss yesterday that little bit more difficult.

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 126 - 28/04/2024 18:24:28    2541228

Replying To Wexican55:  "Sorry but your just wrong here. Every single post has said Antrim deserved to win. Wexford were bad. You can say both.

Numerous people have said wexford are under severe pressure against Carlow in 3 weeks time.

We can be self reflective ( which for once wexford fans are doing ) and say we were not good and discuss our clear failings while admiring Antrims performance. They are not mutual exclusive.

Your looking for something that is not there."
The minor result was posted on Twitter with caption 'some shining light on a dark day for Wexford hurling….

benchtoaster (Carlow) - Posts: 18 - 28/04/2024 18:29:31    2541230

Replying To Doylerwex:  "He got two good scores when we needed leadership."
He also didn't stop Antrim running the ball out from the back, made very few runs to get free and available for a pass, and lost nearly every 50/50 ball that was hit down on top of him while he stood next to his marker.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 28/04/2024 18:31:52    2541232

Replying To Wexican55:  "Its funny you should mention Daragh Egan. That stuff last year drove me demented some of the stuff written and spoken.

Egan got pillared for trying to play Rory O'connor as a spare man in the middle third during the league last year. Guess what we tried for the first half today ?

Egan again got pillared for the performance and team selection against clare when they annihilated us in a nothing league match when trying to build a squad and give players games. Guess what happened this year in the league against Cork.

Egan again got pillared for the match against westmeath this time publicly on certain radio stations that lost a 17 point lead against westmeath ( even though he picked a team that was good enough to have a 17 point lead ). Guess what has happened this year a 5 point lead gone in 90 seconds and a 7 point lead lost in 20 minutes.

We have the same style of hurling we had which Egan started. chin and Mcdonald on the 14 yard line and hit the ball into them. I wouldn't be surprised to find out against Galway we go with Chin Mcdonald and Jack O'connor in a full forward line against galway ( which again Egan did to a certain extent against Clare in 22 and Kk Last year).

We have completely changed from playing into the space like we did in the league.

We don't know are we running team playing through lines, are we hit the two towers inside team or are we going to retreat create space and then try play into the space.

We don't have an identity. Actually we do Lee Chin is our identity which is not a good thing.

Last year the manager was the easy answer and we love easy answers in Wexford."
In fairness we had a style to suit our players during the League. Interestingly we went away from that so far this championship. Is that to do with returning players not being used to that system?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12196 - 28/04/2024 18:35:18    2541233

Replying To WEXILE:  "I think Rory O Connor is suspended as he got yellows in the Dublin and Antrim game. It makes any reaction to loss yesterday that little bit more difficult."
No he not, when has that rule come in?

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 960 - 28/04/2024 18:35:57    2541234