Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Replying To Viking66:  "Went downhill after that. Spent alot of time waiting for the ball."
He got two good scores when we needed leadership.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2738 - 28/04/2024 07:51:35    2541103

Anyone who is frustrated with where we are this morning should read this document again this morning and should genuinely either take it on board or come up with better suggestions. It's obvious that the standard of our clubs is not where we need it to be

https://wexfordgaa.ie/wexford-gaa-in-2023/

wexfordwin (Wexford) - Posts: 139 - 28/04/2024 07:55:08    2541104

Have to agree with a lot of what's been said on here regarding our humiliating and embarrassing performance yesterday.
Our main problem is our inability to put teams away when we are on top.
I don't suppose too many of the players will read our analysis of the game. They are hurting enough right now and won't want more salt been rubbed into their already badly wounded bodies and minds.
It will take them a while to get that awful game out of their systems.
Looking at the game with a cold eye one would have to say that some of our lads are nearing the end of their intercounty careers. The evidence was there for all to see in our last two games. Beating Galway, Kilkenny and even Carlow will be extremely difficult and we could well be playing in the Joe Mac next year.
Too many of the team had real stinkers and quite frankly could not match the physicality of the Antrim lads. We were bossed by them for lengthy periods. We really had no penetration up front except for the brilliant Lee Chin. What a player!
All teams now know that we are vulnerable in our half back line and we are weak at defending high balls into our full back line. Will it improve when Ryan returns supposedly against Galway? Let's hope so. He may be a little rusty after his long absence.
The league gave us false hope before the real business began and we most certainly have a mountain to climb right now if our season is to be saved.
The next three games will show us exactly where we are but based on our performances so far I am extremely pessimistic.
Side note-- well done to our minor hurlers and footballers who surprised everyone by beating the cats and Meath respectively. There's hope for us yet.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 298 - 28/04/2024 07:55:53    2541105

i cant figure out whats gone wrong with wexford hurling . ye seem to have some very good hurlers and should be well able to beat the dublins antrims and westmeaths . i taught that when rossiter came in there would be a kick in ye this year. i was there in 96 in the canal end when ye beat us and the place went wild after the final whistle... something is just not right.

munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1109 - 28/04/2024 08:03:04    2541106

The amount of wexford people online calling the loss today a disgrace and a 'black day' for wexford hurling. Would ye learn to have some respect for the hurling people of other counties!! There's plenty of good hurlers in Antrim, Westmeath, Carlow etc, a bit of decorum lads instead of putting an opponent who beats ye fair and square down all the time!

benchtoaster (Carlow) - Posts: 18 - 28/04/2024 08:15:13    2541108

As someone pointed out here yesterday - Richie Hogan's analysis was interesting and spot on - Wexford have 2 gears - good and brutal there doesn't seem to be anything in between. Leaders bring teams out of this type of chronic inconsistencies- wexford have 2 or 3 leaders but any team needs 10-15 to do well.

OasisorBlur (Wexford) - Posts: 35 - 28/04/2024 08:44:19    2541109

Feels like we're in mourning today lads. Where do we go from here.

I was absolutely livid yesterday immediately after the game and a white butterfly landed on me and stayed there for ages. Spiritual symbol of rebirth and New beginnings.

Maybe this is the catalyst for change.

After the Colm Bonner we responded really well and produced the great 21 team and Liam Dunne/Davy era.

It is a way of life. We cannot allow this to pass.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2738 - 28/04/2024 09:14:28    2541112

It's pairc chairmann this morning for blitz. I'll be doing everything I can to make sure we've a team backboned by harriers in a decade or so.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2738 - 28/04/2024 09:17:02    2541113

Unless I'm mistaken but if we were to beat either Kilkenny or Galway and then lose to the other one, lose to Carlow, and then Antrim and Carlow drew on the last day, we would be relegated on 3 points as Carlow and Antrim would own the head-to-head on us

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 28/04/2024 09:54:35    2541117

Replying To Yellowhelmet:  "We have to comment on the last 2 games tho. That's our problem in wexford always looking to next game. Nothing suggest we will get results in the next 3 games. It's been awful. Need to call it out"
Reality is we are a bang average team which is coming from a club scene that's exactly the same.
The money that's being pumped into inter county senior hurling is obscene and for what… fighting to stay out of joe mcdonagh cup for the second year in a row.
Lee Chin deserves better. One of Wexford's greats surrounded by a morass of mediocrity.
Well done to the minors in their win yesterday .

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 489 - 28/04/2024 10:15:34    2541118

The beauty of sport. How outcomes can change in the blink of an eye

Chin is an outstanding player and a joy to watch.

I know you will be hurting over the result and equally we are over the moon after the previous week's debacle and this was the first game where we had our first 15 playing. Don't be too hard on your players. They do not become bad players over night. In terms of tactics. The obsession with the short puck outs probably played against you. We crowded the middle to inhibit the runners.

Great to have conversations with 3 of your supporters on all things GAA.

I believe there are a few more twists and turns in this group.

The beauty of sport and our wonderful GAA

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 294 - 28/04/2024 10:31:24    2541121

Replying To Galway9801:  "We've already lost offaly to the hurling wilderness, and Dublin have considerably regressed since 2013 when they were genuinely good enough to win the all Ireland.
With possible relegation looming is wexford going the same way?
It's great to see a county like antrim take a big scalp but hurling needs every traditional county it can get."
We are where we deserve to be. Cannot keep using excuses down here. We've run out of them now.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 489 - 28/04/2024 12:14:14    2541132

Replying To Wexican55:  "Its funny you should mention Daragh Egan. That stuff last year drove me demented some of the stuff written and spoken.

Egan got pillared for trying to play Rory O'connor as a spare man in the middle third during the league last year. Guess what we tried for the first half today ?

Egan again got pillared for the performance and team selection against clare when they annihilated us in a nothing league match when trying to build a squad and give players games. Guess what happened this year in the league against Cork.

Egan again got pillared for the match against westmeath this time publicly on certain radio stations that lost a 17 point lead against westmeath ( even though he picked a team that was good enough to have a 17 point lead ). Guess what has happened this year a 5 point lead gone in 90 seconds and a 7 point lead lost in 20 minutes.

We have the same style of hurling we had which Egan started. chin and Mcdonald on the 14 yard line and hit the ball into them. I wouldn't be surprised to find out against Galway we go with Chin Mcdonald and Jack O'connor in a full forward line against galway ( which again Egan did to a certain extent against Clare in 22 and Kk Last year).

We have completely changed from playing into the space like we did in the league.

We don't know are we running team playing through lines, are we hit the two towers inside team or are we going to retreat create space and then try play into the space.

We don't have an identity. Actually we do Lee Chin is our identity which is not a good thing.

Last year the manager was the easy answer and we love easy answers in Wexford."
Spot on wexican

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 489 - 28/04/2024 12:15:15    2541134

I still come back to the fact the standard of Wexford club hurling is at an all time low, if you grow up playing pedestrian paced hurling it's hard to transfer that over to inter county.

1 x Leinster senior club hurling title in the last 28 years

No Wexford club had ever won a Leinster intermediate club title

3 x Leinster junior club titles in 23 years which is a little bit better.

There is no quick fix to this.

Primary schools hurling, post primary Schools hurling, club hurling etc all needs to be fixed first before the senior county team will improve.

There is no quick fix or manager who will improve that.

We had one good year in 2019 since 2004 let's not kid ourselves.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 745 - 28/04/2024 12:39:21    2541139

Wexford should try and win the a league . Championship is out of their reach.

Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 130 - 28/04/2024 12:44:54    2541141

Replying To Past hurler:  "Everything goes up a few notches in championship though and a lot of Wexford hurlers seem to struggle with that level of hurling when it goes to full championship tilt.

Less time on the ball, hooked, blocked or making the wrong decision because you don't have the same amount of time on the ball as you had in the league fixture 5 weeks previous.

That to me is down to ability or non-ability to hurl at that higher championship pace."
That's not the issue, a lot of these hurlers have hurled very well in the not too distant past at Championship pace

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 28/04/2024 12:59:50    2541144

Replying To OpenStandWall:  "Thought that came in to my head on the way home - I think we're slowly becoming the new Offaly."
Not really, our under-age results would be ahead of what Offaly had been achieving plus they were getting hidings in the Championship whereas we've mainly kept on find ways to lose tight games

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 28/04/2024 13:01:56    2541145

Replying To Slowandshortsighted:  "I think kk beat antrim by 30 points last week and scored something like 5-30.There definitely is a obsession with kk in Wexford. Yes Wexford never fear kk but they always back it up and you know what you will get everyday from them. Maybe its more jealousy than obsessed.kk going for 5 leinsters in a row and not a word from them. Today was another dark day for the hurlers.We can dress today up no matter way we want but the facts are this is embarrassing. Antrim havent won a match in a long time. I feel sorry for rossi because he is a gent. When lee goes there will be dark days ahead. Unfortunately the leaders from 2019 are nearly all finished and theres going to be some painful days trying to build another team.
Its clear now that the league was a waste of time and a false reading. Teams didn't bother with it. We had tom Dempsy and Ursula in the media saying how strong the panel is and theres 8 or 9 starters to come back. Im convinced if lee wasnt there Wexford would be in the joe mac
Yes id expect a better performance next week where under dogs will suit but very hard to see past galway. Its going to be hard pick lads off the ground again but alot of these lads have being here before.Its depressing and the hurling world will be having a giggle.Theres a big rebuild needed theres lads around the squad not good enough
I know its a few years ago now but the team never recovered from the way davie had them revved up to the last. Injuries very slow to heal. Is it a coincidence that clare 2013 lost a few through injury and it took clare 8 or 9 years to get back to the top table.
Carlow will definitely be no pushover they have played some good hurling.
Gakway have a great record in salthill and should win that. Kk have alot of injuries."
If we're Joe McDonagh level without Lee, then what are Antrim and Carlow? We mightn't be producing the players to win an All-Ireland but we are definitely producing the players to be a Liam McCarthy side without Lee Chin

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 28/04/2024 13:03:42    2541146

Replying To benchtoaster:  "The amount of wexford people online calling the loss today a disgrace and a 'black day' for wexford hurling. Would ye learn to have some respect for the hurling people of other counties!! There's plenty of good hurlers in Antrim, Westmeath, Carlow etc, a bit of decorum lads instead of putting an opponent who beats ye fair and square down all the time!"
Antrim played very well but that doesn't mean that Wexford weren't terrible, Antrim wanted it more than Wexford, that's why they're referring to it as a "disgrace"

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 284 - 28/04/2024 13:06:11    2541148

Replying To Newyorkkat:  "Wexford should try and win the a league . Championship is out of their reach."
Crazy post !!!!

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 298 - 28/04/2024 13:17:47    2541150