Most Popular Posts in the last 24hrs

(this page is sorted with the most popular posts at the top)

Galway Hurling thread - 6 Like(s)

Replying To jimbodub:  "Usual aul bigotry nonsense.. Yeah, yeah, we'll be insufferable when theres a only a fraction for the hurling support and most Dub fans wouldn't even know there was a U20 hurling match on.. never mid start crowing a out it Sure just look at us falling over ourselves to brag... ffs It will be a great thing for the core hurling supporters of the City, who are a very loyal and dedicated core support who've only enjoyed a tiny bit of success compared to the football support Imagine.. imagine them being proud of winning an AI and perhaps vocalising that.. f**king b******s Spare us that **** Baire.."
Jayus. There was us worried ye might suffer delusions of grandeur but instead ye are suffering from acute inferiority complex! Turn up for the books. A lad comes on after winning a Leinster semi final and is upset because the manager and a couple of posters didn't pat ye on the head and say there's a good boy. I felt both points were justified. Why the long break less so. But missing the best underage hurler we have had in a long time, along with two lads who are in their last year U20 was very relevant. 50% if the forward line that started against Dublin a mere 5 weeks ago wiped one. One of them scoring 2-8 in that game. Coming onto a Galway forum expecting us to be raining superlatives down on the opposition you will not find. In general we are a moany bunch a long time on the road. We have enough of our own issues. That is what we like to discuss.

SamandLiamSoon (National) - 17/05/2024 10:16:34

Galway Hurling thread - 2 Like(s)

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Thank goodness you're monitoring around to keep us on track here. I'd be lost without your value add."
No more than myself, he has a soft spot for you, Pope!

baire (National) - 17/05/2024 13:58:42

Replying To Oldtourman:  "To settle a mild argument can any one tell me where the Galway After Match Banquet held in 1980?"
Clare Manor Hotel which is long since gone

SixtiesKid (National) - 17/05/2024 09:07:58

so much for changes on the senior team..only 2..... mannion and concannon will be big losses.. i think the balance of the team is not right at all.. for me fahy goes to 6...fintan to 7..mannion to 5.. id prefer monahan at midfield and i wouldnt start glennon after the last day..was very poor.. would of liked to see killeen or jamie get a start and see how they go along with declan mcloughlin.. i think we will have enough to get over the line tomorrow but next week game v dublin id have serious douths..anyways here's hoping Gaillimh abu

gbay (National) - 17/05/2024 13:36:51

Leinster Hurling Championship 2024 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I probably dislike that club more than I do Galway :-) (It can really only be one of a handful of "certain" clubs. Don't really dislike anyone of course!)"
Only a handful if you're only talking senior but I didn't say! ;) What I like about the Dublin club is that I have made lifelong friendships with ppl from every province and I see Dubs, Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, Limerick, KK ppl and many others together coaching, encouraging, training and supporting young lads and lassies. At times of loss and bereavement they come and support each other, they are the salt of the earth. There is the other side, the internal politics, the tension & competition between football and hurling and the inflated egos that you'll find in every club. Sin é an saol.

baire (National) - 17/05/2024 13:01:48

Non-Gaa Forum - 1 Like(s)

Replying To SaffronDon:  "All very "this one time at band camp" evidence there Barney. But do you look down your nose at ALL people with passions that don't align with your own or is it selective to soccer only?"
Mabey if Antrim people and residents of Ireland's second city were more engaged with their native games than the "premier league" circus you might have something to shout about.

tireoghainabu (National) - 17/05/2024 21:12:11

Westmeath Football thread - 1 Like(s)
Best of luck to Damien/management and all the squad in tomorrows all Ireland U20 final.It may be 2nd tier but its still a final to be won-some people not to impressed with this team but lets not forget the celebrations when the tailteamn cup was won-also a 2nd tier trophy so get behind these young lads as they deserve all the support and praise they can get.

Bruno@1 (National) - 17/05/2024 16:25:25

Clare Hurling thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Wrong on many counts! Keep the faith!"
I'm a glass half empty type of chap, while I was surprised by the Limerick result & delighted, I'm not sure we will back it up against Tipperary, who also have a gun to their heads. By Sunday 6pm all Rebel supporters will be alot more clearer on the development of this current Cork side. Best of luck to all involved in Cork GAA & safe travels to all this weekend.

St.Mologga (National) - 17/05/2024 15:44:47

Non-Gaa Forum - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "It might be all a bit more straightforward. Kids attach to these teams at a certain age, if they're winning all round them. You can nearly tell a person's age oftentimes, by what team they 'support'. If it's Leeds, you're over 70. If you're in your 50s or 60s, you're possibly a Liverpool fan. United's 'new' fans are probably pushing into their 30s and 40s now. There's probably a sprinkling of Chelsea fans in their 20s at this stage, while I'm sure there's a fair few Man City fans in the teenage and national school age groups currently."
Ah yeah, I think you're right. Just strange that Ireland didn't see an explosion of Glasgow Rangers fans following their dominance of the SPL in the 90s, yet when Liverpool dominated in the 70s and 80s, people were falling over themselves to follow them. Both clubs from remarkably similar origins.

cavanman47 (National) - 17/05/2024 15:21:40

Wexford Hurling thread 2024 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To Doylerwex:  "To be fair to him he was our best defender last year. I agree though. He's struggling at the minute. I'll be very surprised if we line out like that"
We've made changes in all the games so maybe we will make changes before throw in again

Afinestick96 (National) - 17/05/2024 13:54:23

Donegal GAA thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To NORTHMEN:  "I just logged into my season ticket account to buy the 3 match package but see sold out. However, the original email said below: Deadline Reminder: Please note that the deadline to purchase your county's 3 match pack is 1pm on the Friday preceding your county's first group game."
got sorted.

NORTHMEN (National) - 17/05/2024 12:27:39

Galway Hurling thread - 1 Like(s)

Replying To foreveryoung:  "I see the Pope is confusing himself again and tying himself up in knots. Will he ever learn? At this stage, probably not!"
Thank goodness you're monitoring around to keep us on track here. I'd be lost without your value add.

Pope_Benedict (National) - 17/05/2024 12:25:54

Leinster Hurling Championship 2024 - 1 Like(s)

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Ah don't. You are one of the more interesting contributors and we childishly bicker. You also have a sense of humour and I think I did see the now excised reference to a certain player, which was obviously meant to be in that spirit but I can see maybe why it was taken out. Now, back to slagging one another's counties on all sorts of spurious historical bases :-)"
I told that joke to my wife to see her reaction and she thought it hilarious. My wife is a Dublin woman btw which means that I'm an awful bigot altogether and what's more I have a son and daughter who have won county medals in hurling with a certain Dublin club! Oh the shame of it! It's no joke making jokes on this forum, I tell ye!

baire (National) - 17/05/2024 09:58:56