Leinster Hurling Championship 2024

Replying To baire:  "I told that joke to my wife to see her reaction and she thought it hilarious. My wife is a Dublin woman btw which means that I'm an awful bigot altogether and what's more I have a son and daughter who have won county medals in hurling with a certain Dublin club! Oh the shame of it! It's no joke making jokes on this forum, I tell ye!"
Not that shower....they make Loughrea seem normal.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1144 - 17/05/2024 12:17:37    2545244

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I probably dislike that club more than I do Galway :-)

(It can really only be one of a handful of "certain" clubs. Don't really dislike anyone of course!)"
Only a handful if you're only talking senior but I didn't say! ;)
What I like about the Dublin club is that I have made lifelong friendships with ppl from every province and I see Dubs, Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, Limerick, KK ppl and many others together coaching, encouraging, training and supporting young lads and lassies. At times of loss and bereavement they come and support each other, they are the salt of the earth. There is the other side, the internal politics, the tension & competition between football and hurling and the inflated egos that you'll find in every club. Sin é an saol.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 17/05/2024 13:01:48    2545262

Predictions for this weekend:

Dubs Vs Cats
The Cats are scalded. The only thing more dangerous that a cornered rat is a humiliated cat. I expect this to be a hum- dinger with Dublin flying high and they will match Kilkenny's physicality in the first half. I feel that the cats need this result more than Dublin though as the Dubs wont fear Galway next week - so I think Kilkenny will come out on top and stretch their lead in the final fifteen minutes.

Antrim Vs Galway
Again Galway will want to bounce back after a poor performance vs Wexford. They need to get their season back on track and a win is a must for them here. Antrim will have one eye on Carlow next week so I predict a Galway win.

Carlow v Wexford
Carlow will have this targeted as a potential win due to Wexford's poor performances against so called weaker counties in recent years. However now I feel they will have gotten their result prematurely last week against Kilkenny. So no matter what happens now they will have had a great season.

Carlow will be full of confidence after last week's draw with Kilkenny and they will come out fighting. Again I think Wexford need this more and having dropped points against Dublin and Antrim they will not be complacent again this season. Carlow have taken their scalp so probably wont be as hungry and again they will have one eye on the Antrim game next week. If Wexford can stay in the game and turn up they should pull away in the last ten minutes and finish with a few points to spare.

Yellow (Wexford) - Posts: 558 - 17/05/2024 13:31:01    2545267

Replying To baire:  "Only a handful if you're only talking senior but I didn't say! ;)
What I like about the Dublin club is that I have made lifelong friendships with ppl from every province and I see Dubs, Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, Limerick, KK ppl and many others together coaching, encouraging, training and supporting young lads and lassies. At times of loss and bereavement they come and support each other, they are the salt of the earth. There is the other side, the internal politics, the tension & competition between football and hurling and the inflated egos that you'll find in every club. Sin é an saol."
I could nearly guess which it is!

GAA in my own family mostly comes via Tipp grandfather who hurled for Dublin, but never supported them at county, even I think when his sons were hurling for Dublin if they can be believed!

So the Dub/"culchie" thing is rarely serious this end as there are few GAA Dubs or any Dubs without similar backgrounds. You only have to look at the current country seniors in both codes.

Actually, my Galway aversion is possibly via north Tipp gene :-)

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2657 - 17/05/2024 14:20:18    2545282

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "I could nearly guess which it is!

GAA in my own family mostly comes via Tipp grandfather who hurled for Dublin, but never supported them at county, even I think when his sons were hurling for Dublin if they can be believed!

So the Dub/"culchie" thing is rarely serious this end as there are few GAA Dubs or any Dubs without similar backgrounds. You only have to look at the current country seniors in both codes.

Actually, my Galway aversion is possibly via north Tipp gene :-)"
Fiosracht a bhain a mhéar de Mhurchadh! :)

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1849 - 17/05/2024 14:34:01    2545283

Replying To baire:  "Only a handful if you're only talking senior but I didn't say! ;)
What I like about the Dublin club is that I have made lifelong friendships with ppl from every province and I see Dubs, Galway, Mayo, Tyrone, Limerick, KK ppl and many others together coaching, encouraging, training and supporting young lads and lassies. At times of loss and bereavement they come and support each other, they are the salt of the earth. There is the other side, the internal politics, the tension & competition between football and hurling and the inflated egos that you'll find in every club. Sin é an saol."
Ah so it's not Cuala;-)

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 17/05/2024 15:16:27    2545291

Replying To Yellow:  "Predictions for this weekend:

Dubs Vs Cats
The Cats are scalded. The only thing more dangerous that a cornered rat is a humiliated cat. I expect this to be a hum- dinger with Dublin flying high and they will match Kilkenny's physicality in the first half. I feel that the cats need this result more than Dublin though as the Dubs wont fear Galway next week - so I think Kilkenny will come out on top and stretch their lead in the final fifteen minutes.

Antrim Vs Galway
Again Galway will want to bounce back after a poor performance vs Wexford. They need to get their season back on track and a win is a must for them here. Antrim will have one eye on Carlow next week so I predict a Galway win.

Carlow v Wexford
Carlow will have this targeted as a potential win due to Wexford's poor performances against so called weaker counties in recent years. However now I feel they will have gotten their result prematurely last week against Kilkenny. So no matter what happens now they will have had a great season.

Carlow will be full of confidence after last week's draw with Kilkenny and they will come out fighting. Again I think Wexford need this more and having dropped points against Dublin and Antrim they will not be complacent again this season. Carlow have taken their scalp so probably wont be as hungry and again they will have one eye on the Antrim game next week. If Wexford can stay in the game and turn up they should pull away in the last ten minutes and finish with a few points to spare."
Just on the last game isn't it a shame that 1 of ourselves, Galway, Carlow or Antrim will be relegated. Leinster should be expanded, not have teams relegated.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 17/05/2024 15:18:43    2545292

Replying To baire:  "Fiosracht a bhain a mhéar de Mhurchadh! :)"
Think Barney's hoping Curiosity kills the Cat this weekend Baire!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 17/05/2024 15:21:03    2545294