Louth GAA thread

Great Louth performance, tactics definitely for Dublin with Ger pulling the strings and we were in it. Ahead at half time, who would have guessed that, we got some great scores from play, goals were great. And Sam didn't miss anything, absolute masterclass of dead ball kicking. Finally we have a team to take on the Dubs and you know what.. we weren't far off. Their experience told in the end but we are getting used to Croker. We will be back. An Lu Abu.

ninjasmyth (Louth) - Posts: 730 - 14/05/2024 15:55:55    2544752

I could not be any more prouder of Louth coming out of Croke Park on Sunday. Every player put in a shift. Conor Grimes was my Louth man of the match.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 826 - 15/05/2024 09:42:23    2544858

It was a great performance by the lads but we needed a win. The feeling could not compare with '57 when we scored 2-9 (in 60 minutes) against the same opposition. They got 1-7: (like Cork in AIF)- Patsy Coleman was off injured that day, A hugh loss.There was over 30,000 there.with a similar crowd at the semi final with Tyrone. Never thought we would be waiting so long. Let's take Kerry this time.. We are good enough to do it.

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1599 - 17/05/2024 21:45:36    2545332

Replying To 19616609:  "It was a great performance by the lads but we needed a win. The feeling could not compare with '57 when we scored 2-9 (in 60 minutes) against the same opposition. They got 1-7: (like Cork in AIF)- Patsy Coleman was off injured that day, A hugh loss.There was over 30,000 there.with a similar crowd at the semi final with Tyrone. Never thought we would be waiting so long. Let's take Kerry this time.. We are good enough to do it."
Patsy Coleman was the Louth captain that day. He missed the All Ireland semi final. Dermot O Brien took over as captain. Before the final Patsy Coleman and Dermot O Brien tossed up for captain. O Brien won the toss and as they say the rest is history. Patsy Coleman has the football from the 1957 All Ireland final.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 826 - 18/05/2024 16:00:58    2545412

Some shortage of tickets for the Meath game , none for me , very annoyed considering I ( and others ) followed Louth home and away through the years .
A lot of disappointed people / kids around .
Looks like I'll have to try find it on the telly … somewhere .

louthman57 (Louth) - Posts: 295 - 21/05/2024 16:59:44    2546220

Replying To louthman57:  "Some shortage of tickets for the Meath game , none for me , very annoyed considering I ( and others ) followed Louth home and away through the years .
Looks like I'll have to try find it on the telly … somewhere ."
Ye shoulda picked Newry......

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1592 - 21/05/2024 18:59:43    2546238

Replying To louthman57:  "Some shortage of tickets for the Meath game , none for me , very annoyed considering I ( and others ) followed Louth home and away through the years .
Thank your county board. Alienating thousands of genuine fans from both counties. What a complete farce of a decision.

Kepak10 (Meath) - Posts: 163 - 21/05/2024 20:58:14    2546257

and a good chance it will be Louths first champioship win over Meath in near 40 years. bookies have Louth odds on to win 8/13, Meath 2/1 in places. its not even on any gaa go tv or anything. id say a 3 minute segment of a few scores on the sunday game nightime show is all we will get, or could there be a chance they wont have cameras there at all?

dickie10 (UK) - Posts: 716 - 21/05/2024 21:06:33    2546258

Replying To dickie10:  "and a good chance it will be Louths first champioship win over Meath in near 40 years. bookies have Louth odds on to win 8/13, Meath 2/1 in places. its not even on any gaa go tv or anything. id say a 3 minute segment of a few scores on the sunday game nightime show is all we will get, or could there be a chance they wont have cameras there at all?"
1975 was the last time Louth beat Meath in the Championship. 49 years ago.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 826 - 22/05/2024 07:33:11    2546279

Try the Weavers pub in Drawda for the Louth match.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 826 - 22/05/2024 07:45:50    2546283

Louth V Meath Ticket, general sale as of 3pm today, i just picked up what i needed thankfully ! Crisis over !

louthman57 (Louth) - Posts: 295 - 22/05/2024 15:11:03    2546426

Still tickets available on Ticketmaster

Fkd12 (Louth) - Posts: 164 - 22/05/2024 16:38:25    2546444

The Louth and Monaghan match is confirmed for Clones on Sunday 2nd of June. Throw in at 3.30 pm.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 826 - 23/05/2024 09:44:05    2546515

What's the parking situation in Iniskeen ? Any tips / tricks on parking and how do they manage to control the volume of cars ?
Thanks

louthman57 (Louth) - Posts: 295 - 24/05/2024 12:36:30    2546808

Best of luck to Louth today.

Ollie2 (Louth) - Posts: 826 - 25/05/2024 12:41:04    2546952

Replying To Ollie2:  "Best of luck to Louth today."
Did you get a ticket for the match today Ollie?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6034 - 25/05/2024 15:39:19    2546981

WHAT A GAME BY LOUTH TODAY.
Surely now louth will be very confident for monaghan in clones. Louth were better team full game even when meath had an extra man. Louth pushed out the score difference. Louth support was brilliant full way through and it was good to see monaghan spectators also for louth. Ger brennan has done better than mickey with a win in the All Ireland Series. Beating kildare in lenster semi final is also more impressive than beating offaly after extra time. Exciting few weeks for louth ahead. LÚ ABÚ

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 27 - 25/05/2024 19:41:04    2547047

Craig lennon also had a great game.

Lúla571210 (Louth) - Posts: 27 - 25/05/2024 19:42:32    2547048

Congratulations

Fantastic result

Happy to see yiz carry the Leinster Final performance forward and give Meath a good hiding

That's a historic result lads, a spanking.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20616 - 25/05/2024 20:26:00    2547068

Well done Louth. Ye owed the Royals that since 2010.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2222 - 25/05/2024 20:59:10    2547075