Leitrim GAA thread

Don't worry lads yous will win by 5 points or more, I talk to yous after the game,, I seen wexford beat Longford out the gate,

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 452 - 15/05/2024 18:55:22    2544985

Replying To SeanMacDiarmada:  "Don't think you'll get too many here being that confident. Lost by 6 points to them 2 and a half months ago.

I do remember us winning in Longford during PJ Carroll's time in the pouring rain but don't think we've managed it since"
The All Ireland B final vs Sligo 1990

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 140 - 16/05/2024 17:46:06    2545168

Replying To Backheel:  "The All Ireland B final vs Sligo 1990"
That was played in The Hyde

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 397 - 16/05/2024 21:41:59    2545193

We need a huge performance today as Longford will be smarting from last week and if there is anything in them at all they will produce it today. We were 8 points down after 15 minutes of league game so must start well today. I'd be worried about this game, our record in Longford is terrible and our recent form is poor too , a win will guarantee us a home preliminarily quarter final while a loss will have us scraping to avoid worst third place as we will be well beaten by kildare and we only won by 5 against Waterford. Best of luck lads,this is a pivotal game in our season no doubt

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 186 - 19/05/2024 12:07:57    2545541

Replying To JimmyNail:  "We need a huge performance today as Longford will be smarting from last week and if there is anything in them at all they will produce it today. We were 8 points down after 15 minutes of league game so must start well today. I'd be worried about this game, our record in Longford is terrible and our recent form is poor too , a win will guarantee us a home preliminarily quarter final while a loss will have us scraping to avoid worst third place as we will be well beaten by kildare and we only won by 5 against Waterford. Best of luck lads,this is a pivotal game in our season no doubt"
Decent performance will likely be enough, Longford in a bad place and have pretty much checked out for the year already.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 118 - 19/05/2024 12:12:39    2545545

Phew ha ha

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 452 - 19/05/2024 17:22:02    2545616

What a victory! Everything eslinchickenmaryland has been saying is correct. Go Coach Moran! Whoop whoop

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1072 - 19/05/2024 18:47:54    2545645

Replying To Lockerroomboy:  "Phew ha ha"
Congrats on another great win. Andy has now led yez to league promotion, and 2 back to back wins in the Cup, with a right chance of reaching the latter stages. 10 remaining teams are now longer odds than Leitrim.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 503 - 19/05/2024 19:02:35    2545653

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "What a victory! Everything eslinchickenmaryland has been saying is correct. Go Coach Moran! Whoop whoop"
It was always going to be Coach Moran and Coach Graham's day. The guys played with aplomb and got the clutch scores when they were a wantin. I had camped out at Pearse Park two days before the game just in case it sold out and I wasn't disappointed. Magnificent.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 61 - 19/05/2024 19:20:33    2545660

What's everyones thoughts on the first round of the league? Any early predictions?

Gortletteragh, Melvin Gaels and Ballinaglera had decent wins in div 2. Manor hammered Drumkeerin so I'd have them as my favourites for promotion. Mohill also look to be motoring well in div 1 but they are going to lose Keith Beirne and Jordan Reynolds to America for most of the league.

Leitrimforliam (Leitrim) - Posts: 252 - 20/05/2024 08:34:05    2545733

That was an important win in Longford. no doubt. Couldn't make it unfortunately, so interested in reports. Some confidence should be gained from it after a few recent setbacks. In the big picture promotion (luckily) and Tailteann Cup play-offs is definite progress this year. If we are to improve then in won't be in a straight upward line, but rather a generally upward trajectory with a few dips here and there - what we learn from losses and how that makes us improve will be just as important as good wins. Let's be honest for us (and others every win is a good win.

Now we have secured a play-off, what next? Kildare looking like a team possessed at the moment and will likely be too much for us - but great to get a game like that with no real pressure. If we don't win then it looks like a home match against either - New York, London/Limerick, Wexford, Wicklow/Carlow.

I know who I want - New York. Let's see them in Carrick without a loaded team which they do against us all the time, and no-one else really, then think they are great. I know who I don't want - Wexford! They'll be pumped, and feel they owe us one, I think they are good, surprised they lost to Antrim at home. Mind you, it would be a good one to win and "settle" things - though I'll be rooting for them this year when not playing us, and next year in the league, and hope when we next meet again its in Div 3...... though i suspect they may like to wave at us on the way down as they go up! But let's see.

Well done to the team - was listening on Ocean FM and it sounded like a real grind, and one we nearly kicked away, a bit worrying.

Solo_Run (Leitrim) - Posts: 211 - 20/05/2024 09:32:19    2545748

Well done to the lads yesterday, I would not have backed them to hold out there had a lot of bad wides yesterday, but job done. Longford have regressed a lot of late by the looks of it, they seem disinterested at times

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 474 - 20/05/2024 11:04:54    2545797

Well done to Leitrim yesterday on a good victory over Longford. Its always a good sign when you come out on the right side of a tight game.

I seen Cora Staunton kept referring to Ryan O'Riordan last night on the Sunday game. I think that's very disrespectful & the presenter should have corrected her. Peter referred to Longford as Louth too. Simple things that should be got right. Anyways rant over. Congratulations again, and I hope Leitrim can take down Kildare in the next round and top the group.

Rossiemad (None) - Posts: 101 - 20/05/2024 12:23:49    2545839

Replying To Solo_Run:  "That was an important win in Longford. no doubt. Couldn't make it unfortunately, so interested in reports. Some confidence should be gained from it after a few recent setbacks. In the big picture promotion (luckily) and Tailteann Cup play-offs is definite progress this year. If we are to improve then in won't be in a straight upward line, but rather a generally upward trajectory with a few dips here and there - what we learn from losses and how that makes us improve will be just as important as good wins. Let's be honest for us (and others every win is a good win.

Now we have secured a play-off, what next? Kildare looking like a team possessed at the moment and will likely be too much for us - but great to get a game like that with no real pressure. If we don't win then it looks like a home match against either - New York, London/Limerick, Wexford, Wicklow/Carlow.

I know who I want - New York. Let's see them in Carrick without a loaded team which they do against us all the time, and no-one else really, then think they are great. I know who I don't want - Wexford! They'll be pumped, and feel they owe us one, I think they are good, surprised they lost to Antrim at home. Mind you, it would be a good one to win and "settle" things - though I'll be rooting for them this year when not playing us, and next year in the league, and hope when we next meet again its in Div 3...... though i suspect they may like to wave at us on the way down as they go up! But let's see.

Well done to the team - was listening on Ocean FM and it sounded like a real grind, and one we nearly kicked away, a bit worrying."
so leitrim weren't **** poor when they lost to New york then?

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 935 - 20/05/2024 12:26:17    2545840

Went to Pearse Park not expecting to win but I wanted Leitrim to show some fight not like the league encounter. Was happy as Leitrim gave it their all in the sun. Barry McNulty was standout player for me for us. The boys in the middle made some fielding from the clouds. Some catches were amazing. Not often Leitrim win the battle around midfield. Worrying part was at 3 or 4 up we missed a hape of chances to go 5 and 6 up. Some of the wides were hair tearing stuff. We let Longford back into it, their runners from half back line did a lot of damage with some long range scores. We ended up lucky to escape with the win but I think we just about deserved it. Nice change from the last day I trudged outta Pearse Park.

Grey_Wolf (Leitrim) - Posts: 236 - 20/05/2024 14:42:03    2545881

Replying To Grey_Wolf:  "Went to Pearse Park not expecting to win but I wanted Leitrim to show some fight not like the league encounter. Was happy as Leitrim gave it their all in the sun. Barry McNulty was standout player for me for us. The boys in the middle made some fielding from the clouds. Some catches were amazing. Not often Leitrim win the battle around midfield. Worrying part was at 3 or 4 up we missed a hape of chances to go 5 and 6 up. Some of the wides were hair tearing stuff. We let Longford back into it, their runners from half back line did a lot of damage with some long range scores. We ended up lucky to escape with the win but I think we just about deserved it. Nice change from the last day I trudged outta Pearse Park."
Fair play to Leitrim, they're a great team. Looking forward to giving Kildare a good rattle. Although they seem to be on fire now and riddlin everyone out of sight. They must be filled with the same spirit as yer man in Doom when he gets the BFG.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1072 - 20/05/2024 15:43:30    2545914

Replying To Rossiemad:  "Well done to Leitrim yesterday on a good victory over Longford. Its always a good sign when you come out on the right side of a tight game.

I seen Cora Staunton kept referring to Ryan O'Riordan last night on the Sunday game. I think that's very disrespectful & the presenter should have corrected her. Peter referred to Longford as Louth too. Simple things that should be got right. Anyways rant over. Congratulations again, and I hope Leitrim can take down Kildare in the next round and top the group."
Yes I noticed that too, truth is though, regardless of what they say publicly, pundits and most supporters from the division 1 teams look down their noses on the Tailteann Cup and the counties involved. Smart sneering remarks abound, with a large number of nick names for the trophy etc. They never dream that one day their county could be involved in it.

martinjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 503 - 20/05/2024 15:48:55    2545917

Replying To Solo_Run:  "That was an important win in Longford. no doubt. Couldn't make it unfortunately, so interested in reports. Some confidence should be gained from it after a few recent setbacks. In the big picture promotion (luckily) and Tailteann Cup play-offs is definite progress this year. If we are to improve then in won't be in a straight upward line, but rather a generally upward trajectory with a few dips here and there - what we learn from losses and how that makes us improve will be just as important as good wins. Let's be honest for us (and others every win is a good win.

Well done to the team - was listening on Ocean FM and it sounded like a real grind, and one we nearly kicked away, a bit worrying."
If we did get NY in the cup I wonder would our chairman attend? He made cryptic comments about our game against them in his report to the county convention last year saying it was a 'horrible, horrible experience" without elaborating what he meant. But perhaps times have changed.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 61 - 20/05/2024 17:09:14    2545940

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "What's everyones thoughts on the first round of the league? Any early predictions?

Gortletteragh, Melvin Gaels and Ballinaglera had decent wins in div 2. Manor hammered Drumkeerin so I'd have them as my favourites for promotion. Mohill also look to be motoring well in div 1 but they are going to lose Keith Beirne and Jordan Reynolds to America for most of the league."
Div 1
For whatever reason, Mohill no longer has any players involved with the county setup.
Is it certain that Keith Beirne and Jordan Reynolds are travelling this summer?
If not, Mohill should be the team to beat in Div 1. St Mary's and Ballinamore will be their main threat. Fenagh might struggle until their county stars return.
Predictions;
1. Mohill, 2 Mary's, 3 Ballinamore, 4 Fenagh, 5 Leitrim Gaels, 6 Aughawillian, 7 Allen Gaels, 8 Carrigallen.

Div 2
Manor should be hot favourites for an immediate return to Div 1. Annaduff look most likely to follow them. But it's very early yet, and I'm probably completely wrong.
Predictions;
1 Manor, 2 Annaduff, 3 Gortletteragh, 4 Drumkeeran, 5 Ballinaglera, 6 Melvin Gaels, 7 Kiltubrid 8 Aughnasheelin.

Div 3
What's going on with Dromahair? I would have expected them as a senior team to cruise through this division. Aughavas now look like the team to beat.
Predictions;
1 Aughavas, 2 Dromahair, 3 Cloone, 4 Bornacoola, 5 Glenfarne, 6 Drumreilly 7 Eslin.

Leitrim2024 (Leitrim) - Posts: 31 - 20/05/2024 18:22:34    2545973

Good win Sunday , a first in Pearse Park since 1993 I'm told,made hard work of it missed a lot of chances to kill the game in the last quarter and nearly paid the price. Wonder will the Kildare game be in somewhere like Mulligar? Would Ballinamore host a home preliminary quarter final or even quarter final if we manage to beat kildare or would we have to go to somewhere like Pearse Park?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 186 - 21/05/2024 13:28:50    2546146